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content/uploads/2019/01/2017LawsCommentary.pdf), but you may NOT consult nor speak 
to anyone else concerning the questions or answers to this test. Before returning the test 
you must sign the declaration after the last question by typing your name and NBO. 

 2. The answers to all questions must include law number(s). Use the full law number (e.g 
64C1 not just 64). Include all laws if more than one law applies to the situation. In many 
cases the answer will receive 0 points if the law is incorrect, even if the answer is correct.  

3. Assume all situations occur at fairly high level competition, unless otherwise noted. 

4. Situations are in pairs competition, match point scoring, unless noted otherwise. 

5. Screens are not in use unless specifically stated. (There are no questions requiring specific 
knowledge of screen regulations or procedures.) 

6. The questions and answers are in Word .docx format, so you are not limited for space but 
your answers, written below the question, must be concise and to the point, and not more 
than 2-3 lines.  

7. Do not just quote the Law. Do not write “offender must pass” – write “North must pass”. 
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10. For “YES”/”NO” questions answer YES or NO but without explanation unless asked to do 
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11. All questions carry about the same weight. 

12. You can use accepted bridge abbreviations such as OOT (out of turn, B=bid, L=lead, 
OL=opening lead ), UI, AI (unauthorized and authorized information), BIT (break in tempo), 
LHO, RHO (left and right hand opponent, Pd (partner), SC (system card), LA (logical 
alternative), M (major suit), m (minor suit), F1, GF (forcing for 1 round, game force), PC for 
major Penalty Card, pc for minor penalty card, X = double, and of course TD. 
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NBO ______________    ID NUMBER _______ 
QUESTION 1 
By Law a player must count his cards before putting them back in the board.  True / False? 
 
Answer: f 
 
Law/s: 7C 

 
 

QUESTION 2 
At the fifth trick defender West leads out of turn. Dummy, who has previously looked into East’s hand (with 
East’s permission) immediately remarks “it’s not your lead”, and declarer calls the TD. 
TD Ruling: 

a) The lead can be withdrawn, but there is UI. 
b) The lead can be withdrawn and there is no UI. 
c) Declarer must accept the lead and play continues as though no irregularity has occurred and the result 

at the table will stand. 
d) Declarer must accept the lead and play continues normally but the TD may award an adjusted score. 

 
Answer:  d 
 
Law/s: 43A1(b), 43A2(c), 43B3 

 
 

QUESTION 3 
South opens 1NT (15-17 on System card), West overcalls 2 and East alerts (Astro, hearts and a minor) and 
South says “Oops” and calls the TD saying he did not intend opening 1NT. Away from the table South explains 

that he meant to open 1 but pulled the wrong bidding card. The TD rules that 1 can be substituted for 1NT 

and West withdraws her 2 overcall and the auction is. 
 
S W N E 

1 P 2 4♥ 
All pass 
East makes 4♥ and NS complain about East’s “first bid” of 4♥ with 9 points and highest heart Q. NS: “With 
hearts West could double if she had a good hand but she didn’t so how can East on her own bid 4♥?” 

East says NS could have bid 4 which makes, and why are they asking the TD to compensate them for their 
mistake and bad bidding. 
 
TD Ruling:  

a) Result remains 4 by East. 

b) Result adjusted to 2 by South, weighted by overtrick possibilities if necessary. 

c) Result adjusted to 4 by South, possibly weighted by possibility of 10 or 9 tricks. 

d) Weighted score of 4 by East and 4 by South. 
 
Answer: a  
 
Law/s: 25A1, 25A2, 25A6 

 

 
QUESTION 4 
East is dealer and opens 1 but before South bids, East says that he miscounted his points and replaces the 1 

with the 1NT card. South accepts the 1NT bid and bids 2 which becomes the final contract.   
What are UI and lead restrictions on EW. 
 

Answer: South can prohibit any one lead from West. 1 is AI for South, UI for West. 
 
Law/s: 26B (23A), 16C 

 
 

  



QUESTION 5 
North is dealer but West opens 2 OOT showing 5 spades and 4+ clubs. North does not accept this bid and 
opens the bidding with 1NT. There is no bidding by EW and the final contract is 3NT by North. What are the lead 
restrictions, if any? 
 
Answer: Declarer may prohibit the lead by East of any one of the four suits . 
 
Law/s: 26B (23A) 

 
 

QUESTION 6 
Pairs. 
EW move to the wrong table (13 instead of 12) and begin playing a board at this table (neither NS nor EW have 
played this hand before).  North opens 1NT and the TD now notices that EW are at the wrong table.  
 

a) The TD requires that the auction and play must be completed and the score must stand. 
b) The players replace their cards in the board, and EW return to the correct table (table 12). The correct 

pair comes to table 13 and an artificial adjusted score for the board is awarded to both pairs. 
c) The players replace their cards in the board, and EW return to the correct table (table 12). The correct 

pair comes to table 13 and a second auction on the same board begins. If North again opens 1NT then 
the board is played and scored normally. If North changes his opening call the board is cancelled and 
an artificial adjusted score awarded. 

 
Answer: a 
 
Law/s: 15B2 

 
 

QUESTION 7 
The bidding is: 
W  N  E  S 

1  pass  X  pass 

1  pass  3  pass  

4  All pass 
 
While returning the bidding cards to the box, East realizes his strange double and calls the TD, who rules: 

a) All calls starting with the double are cancelled and East must replace his double and the bidding 
continues normally. 

b) The double was accepted and the final contract remains 4. 
c) The board cannot be played, an artificial adjusted score is awarded. 

 
Answer:  a 
 
Law/s: (19A1),  (35A), 36A 

 
 

QUESTION 8 
East is dealer and passes but before South bids East says that he made a mistake in sorting his cards and he now 

bids 2. South accepts the change, and NS declare 4. Is 2 a comparable call?  Yes / No? 
 
Answer: Y 
 
Law/s: 23A2 

 

 
  



QUESTION 9 
 
Screens 

Board 6 
East Deals 
E-W Vul 

♠ 10 9 
♥ K 10 9 7 
♦ 10 6 3 
♣ A J 10 8 

 

♠ Q 8 5 4 3 
♥ J 
♦ A J 9 5 
♣ 6 4 3 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 
E 

S 
 

 

♠ K J 6 2 
♥ A Q 2 
♦ K Q 7 
♣ Q 9 2 

  

 

♠ A 7 
♥ 8 6 5 4 3 
♦ 8 4 2 
♣ K 7 5 

 

West North East South 

    1 NT Pass 

2 ♥
1
 Pass 3 ♣

2
 Pass 

4 ♠ All pass     

1: transfer - alerted 
2: super accept - not alerted 

North leads 10 and West makes 10 tricks.  

North calls the TD. He says that 3 (which shows 4 spades and balanced hand) was not alerted. If it were 
alerted as not natural he would lead a club and the contract would be down one. 
TD ruling: 

a) 4 –1 

b) 4 made 

c) Weighted score of 4= and 4–1 
 
Answer: b 
 
REASON for Answer:  
This is high level bridge. North should know that there may be no relation to clubs by East’s bid. And if in doubt 
he should ask. This looks like a double shot. 

 
 

QUESTION 10 
Club Pairs Competition 

North opens 1♣ (at least 2) and East overcalls 2. West alerts “Ghestem, shows diamonds and spades”.  

South says “That’s nonsense! I know how he plays. 2 is natural, 3 is Ghestem”. 
West corrects himself “Oops! Sorry my mistake. Yes, of course it is a natural overcall in clubs”. 
TD is called and rules: 

a) West has UI and must treat the 2 as diamond-spade 2-suiter. 
b) The bidding continues normally, and West may call what he wants. 

c) The TD calls East away from the table and asks what he meant by his 2 bid, after which the TD will 
give his decision. 

d) The board is unplayable and the TD awards an artificial adjusted score. 
 
Answer: b 
 
Law/s and brief reasons for your answer:  
Not 16B nor 16D – the information is not from partner and is therefore authorized. 

 
 

  



QUESTION 11 
If a player passes out of turn, only his LHO and not his RHO has the opportunity to accept the call.  
True / False? 
 
Answer: t 
 
Law/s: L29 A 

 
 

QUESTION 12 
Match point – Pairs 
 

Board 4 
West Deals 
Both Vul 
 

♠ A 10 6 

♥ A 8 

♦ Q J 10 8 6 4 

♣ J 6 
 

♠ 9 7 3 
♥ K J 10 7 5 2 
♦ A 
♣ Q 8 4 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 
E 

S 
 

 

♠ K 8 5 2 
♥ 6 4 3 
♦ 7 5 
♣ K 9 5 2 

  

 

♠ Q J 4 
♥ Q 9 
♦ K 9 3 2 
♣ A 10 7 3 

 

West North East South 

1 ♥ 2 ♦ Pass 3 NT 

All pass 
  

  

West leads ♥J won by ♥Q. South runs ♠Q, East ducks. South plays ♦K taken by West’s ♦A who then clears the 
hearts. Declarer now wins 5 diamond tricks and now claims “finessing the spade, giving last club, 11 tricks 
made”. 
This is the position at this stage: 

 ♠ A 10 
♥ — 
♦ — 
♣ J 6 

 

♠ 9 7 
♥ K 10 
♦ — 
♣ — 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ K 
♥ 6 
♦ — 
♣ K 9 

  

 

♠ J 4 
♥ — 
♦ — 
♣ A 10 

 

 
East says “play on”. South again says “but I’ve got 11 tricks”. “play on” says East. All agree to play on. South 

thinks a little, and then plays the A dropping East’s King, and makes 11 tricks.  
East calls the TD. South was in dummy and said he would finesse spades. So he should play a club to his hand 
(West discards a heart) and then finesse spades (there are still 2 spades outstanding) which East wins, cashes 
♣K and plays a heart; 9 tricks only. South says he changed his mind about the spades. 
 
TD Ruling:   

a) 9 tricks to South. 
b) 11 tricks to South. 

 
Answer: b 
 
Law/s: 68D2(b) 

 

 
  



QUESTION 13 
Declarer wins the trick, but places his card in the wrong direction, after which dummy warns him that he has 
put it in the wrong direction, as though he had lost it. Is dummy allowed to do this?  Yes / No? 
 
Answer: Yes 
 
Law/s: 65B3 

 
 

QUESTION 14 
W/EW 
West  North  East  South 
      2NT 
South bid OOT, not accepted. 
 
After TD ruling the 2NT bid is cancelled, and the bidding is now: 
Pass  Pass  Pass  Pass 
 
EW do not understand what happened (2NT showed 20-22 hcp) and they call the TD.  
This is the deal: 

Board 16 
West Deals 
E-W Vul 

♠ 10 7 
♥ A Q 8 
♦ 10 9 7 4 3 2 
♣ Q J 

 

♠ K Q 4 3 
♥ K J 10 9 
♦ A J 8 
♣ 4 2 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ A J 6 5 
♥ 7 6 5 
♦ K Q 6 5 
♣ A 10 

  

 

♠ 9 8 2 
♥ 4 3 2 
♦ — 
♣ K 9 8 7 6 5 3 

 

South tells the TD that with favourable vulnerability and thinking to be opener he wanted to psyche assuming 
that partner would bid 3♣. 
EW say that given 20-22 in South they didn’t dare to enter the auction.  
 
What decision does the TD take?  

a) Result stands. 
b) He awards an adjusted weighted score 4♠ (11, 10, 9 and 8 tricks).  
c) He cancels the board. 
d) He awards an adjusted score 60-40 to EW. 

 
Answer: b 
 
Law/s: 72C 

 
 

QUESTION 15 
Pairs, 2 sections of 13 tables each, playing with duplicated boards. 
In Section A in the 6

th
 round, about to play board 8, a player notices that all are vulnerable. He calls the TD and 

remarks that on board 8 all should be non-vulnerable. The TD checks and determines that board 8 in Section B 
is correctly designated as all non-vulnerable. In both sections the dealer was West. All the contracts for the 5 
completed rounds in both sections were part scores made, so vulnerability evidently did not affect bidding or 
play. 
In brief, what does the TD do? 
 
Answer: All results in Section A stand and the board continues with the incorrect designation for the rest of the 
session. The two sections are scored separately. 
 
Law/s: 2, 87A, 87B 

 



 

 QUESTION 16 
 
 

Board 7 
South Deals 
Both Vul 

♠ 10 6 4 
♥ 9 5 2 
♦ A K 9 5 4 2 
♣ 2 

 

♠ A 7 5 3 
♥ A K 3 
♦ 3 
♣ A Q 10 6 3 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ K Q 2 
♥ Q J 8 4 
♦ 8 7 6 
♣ K 5 4 

  

 

♠ J 9 8 
♥ 10 7 6 
♦ Q J 10 
♣ J 9 8 7 

 

West is declarer in 6. 

Lead A, then K ruffed, and then: 

A. Declarer plays A and small to K and claims 12 tricks without any statement. 

B.  Hand as above but North has 8 2 without 2 which is now in South’s hand.  After A, K declarer claims 
12 tricks without any statement.  

 
TD ruling: 

a) The claim should be allowed in both cases. 
b) The claim should be denied in both cases. 
c) The claim should be allowed in case A but not in case B. 
d) The claim should be allowed in case B but not in case A. 

 
Answer: a 
 
Law/s: 70 (not C2) 

 
 

QUESTION 17 
If a declarer leads OOT only the LHO (not RHO) may require the lead to be retracted. True / False? 
 
Answer: f 
 
Law/s: Law 55A 

 
 

QUESTION 18 
    A 6 3 2 

  10 7   Q 8 3  

   K J 9 4 

South is declarer in 3NT and the club position is shown. South plays 4 from hand and West takes a long time 

before playing the 7. Declarer wins with A in dummy and play 2 from dummy and K from hand hoping for 

the drop of the Q. He calls the TD and says he was misled by the long pause from West.  
Does the TD adjust the score? Yes / No?  
 
Answer: n 
 

Reason for decision: This is high level bridge. There can be no reason for West to think even if he had the Q. 
South is trying a double shot? 

 
 

  



QUESTION 19 
 

North Deals 
None Vul 

♠ A 3 2 
♥ K 9 8 3 
♦ 10 4 
♣ A K 6 4 

 

♠ Q J 9 6 5 4 
♥ J 7 
♦ Q 7 
♣ 7 5 3 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ 10 8 
♥ Q 6 
♦ 9 8 6 5 3 2 
♣ Q J 8 

  

 

♠ K 7 
♥ A 10 5 4 2 
♦ A K J 
♣ 10 9 2 

 

 
South is declarer in 3NT. First lead ♠Q for the K, 5 ♥-tricks (West discards one spade and two clubs) and then ♦A 
with a revoke by West. Then ♣10 for the J, spade back for the A and a ‘marked’ finesse in diamonds for the Q, 
after which West collects three spade tricks for one down. TD is called about the revoke. How many tricks (in 
total) to NS? 
 
Answer: 12 tricks to NS (3NT+3) 
 
Law/s: 64C1 

 

 
QUESTION 20 
 

A:  West opens 1NT but before North can call East bids 2 (transfer, could be weak). South does not accept the 

bid, and North bids 2 over the 1NT. East now bids 3(forcing). Is 3 a comparable call? Yes / No? 
 
Answer: Y 
 
Law/s: 23A2 
 

B: West opens 1NT, North passes, East bids 2(transfer, could be weak). Before South can call, West bids 

2which is not accepted, and South bids 2. West’s 2 is withdrawn and he now passes. Is pass a comparable 
call? Yes / No? 
 
Answer: Y 
 
Law/s: 23A2 

 
 

BONUS QUESTION  
 

On board 2 (NS vul) in a team match (VP scoring) in the Open Room NS were on their way to reaching a 4 

contract when they received a wrong explanation of an EW agreement and consequently doubled EW’s 3 
instead.  
The TD found out (through a string of polls): 

a)  NS would have undoubtedly reached 4. 

b)  4is not safe; in fact it will make in 3 out of 4 cases and be 1 down in 1 out of 4 cases. 

c)  3 should not make and looking at the frequencies it should be either 1 off (50%) or 2 off (50%). 

d)  At the table while defending against 3 the North player revoked and this resulted in 2 penalty 

tricks, so that the contract was made (West 3 X =). 

e)  The score in the Closed Room was +170 (North 2 +2). 
 
Calculate for both sides the IMP score in this board: 
 
Team A: ______ IMP Team B: _______ IMP 
 



Solution (all scores from the perspective of the NS pair): 
RT: –530  –12 IMP 
RN: 75% (+620) + 25% (–100) = 0.75 x 10 IMP + 0.25 x –7 IMP = 7.5 – 1.75 IMP = 5.75 IMP  6 IMP 
RE: 50% (+300) + 50% (+100) = 0.5 x 4 IMP + 0.5 x –2 IMP = 2 – 1 IMP = 1 IMP 
 
Team A (Law 12C1(e)(ii)): RT + (RN – RE)  –12 + (6 – 1) IMP = –7 IMP 
Team B (Law 12C1(e)(i)): RN  –6 IMP 

 
 


