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Towards Guidelines for Claims
Adjudication of Contested Claims

Presented by Jacob Duschek

Warsaw, September 2022

Goal of This Lecture
TDs everywhere ask for guidelines for adjudicating contested claims.  We

will look at some of the questions that such guidelines should answer.

We are not concerned with ordinary two-way guesses.  The claimer will

always get those wrong.  Instead, our main question is the following:

How big mistakes are within the realm of ”normal plays”?

Disclaimer

Some may walk away from this lecture with more questions than answers.

Requirements

Good advance knowledge of Law 70 and Law 71 is assumed.

Some Recurring Questions
… that we will consider are:

 Will a player always handle simple suit combinations correctly?

 Which orders of cashing tricks are considered ”normal”?

 At which time would it be ”normal” to concede a losing trick?

 How badly can declarer play when he has forgotten about a trump?

About the Examples
In all examples in this presentation, South is declarer and makes a claim

which is contested by the defenders.

Non-trivially resolved contested claims by defenders are rare, and we will

not consider them here.
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Suit Combinations
A well-known suit combination consists of AK9xx opposite Q10xx (or 

similar).  Declarer, needing 5 tricks from this suit, claims the rest of the 

tricks.

Of course, the suit is 4-0.  Do we allow the claim?

Questions to consider:

 Would any reasonable player ever not be aware of the problem?

 Why would a good player claim without first saying, ”I play the ace”.

 Why did an elite player once claim holdingAK8xx opposite Q10xx?

Blockages
If declarer’s only problem is to get four tricks from AQJx opposite Kx, 

blocking the suit by playing an honour from the wrong hand is not a 

”normal” play.

Some combinations involving small cards can be more tricky.  For example, 

declarer may hold AKQ32 opposite 7654.  Here it would be a ”normal” play

to squander a necessary entry before going about with the main suit.

Cashing Order (1)
Spades are trumps.  South claims the rest, 

making no statement.

East objects because he has a trump

remaining.

Should we allow the claim?

No.  If South believes there are no more 

trumps out, he might stop drawing

trumps even if he can easily afford

another round.

Q
 K98
 –
 –

 – N  T
 6

W E
 –

 –  –
QJT S  985

 J6
 3
 –
 3

Cashing Order (2)
Spades are trumps.  South claims the rest, 

making no statement.

West objects because he has the A.

How many tricks for the defence?

Two.  If South believes everything is good, 

he might as well draw his trumps first, 

even if he clearly can never gain by doing

so, whichever cards are remaining.

 –
 –
 54
 32

 – N  –
 –

W E
 9872

 A  –
 JT7 S  –

A3
 –
KQ
 –
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Cashing Order (3)
Spades are trumps.  South claims the rest, 

making no statement.

East objects because he has the ♠9.

How many tricks for E-W?

Four.  If South believes everything is good, 

he might play his trump first.

Actual ruling:  One.  Would anyone really

ever play such a low trump first? But if it 

were the ♠8, we would give E-W four

tricks.

 –
 A64
 –
KJ62

 – N  9
 T87

W E
 9

 QT8  J
 7 S  T953

 3
QJ
 –
 AQ84

Cashing Order (4)
Notrump.  South claims the rest (he 

knows the ♥8 and 7 are not high).

East objects because he has the A.

How many tricks for E-W?

Three.  South might cash his major-suit

winners, then cross to the ♣J to cash 

diamonds.

Actual ruling:  Two.  Cashing both major-

suit winners is not normal.

 –
 –
KQT7
 J7

 – N  86
 –

W E
 97

 9865  A
 T9 S  4

K
T8
 –
A86

When to Concede (1)
South plays 6♠ and immediately claims 12 

tricks.  East wants South to state a plan.  

Now South says, ”oh, I have 13 easy top 

tricks, as all of dummy’s losers go away on 

clubs and diamonds.”

How many tricks for South?

Twelve.  When he thinks he must 

concede a heart, he might as well do so 

immediately, especially when he might try

to slip it pastWest’s ♥A.

 KQ953
 K74
QJ82
 8

 N 


W E


 
 J S 

 AJT4
 5
 AKT73
 AKQ

When to Concede (2)
South plays 5♣.  He wins the opening lead

of the K, plays the ♣A, and takes the 

spade finesse.  When East produces the 

♠K, South claims 11 tricks.

When discovering that East has no 

diamond to play, South wants 12 tricks.

Should we give South his trick?

Yes.  South would not overlook the 

possibility of discarding.

 AQ
Q
 86
 J9765432

 T864 N K932
 J842

W E
KT97653

 KQT94  J
 – S K

 J75
A
A7532
AQT8
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When to Concede (3)
South plays 3♣, needing another three

tricks for his contract.  West is on lead.  

South is aware that the 7 is good.  

Nevertheless, he says to West, ”if you

have the ♠Q, I make 10 tricks.”  West says

that he doesn’t, and 9 tricks are scored.

When discovering that there are no 

more trumps out, South wants an 

overtrick.  Does he get it?

No.  He would have let a spade shift run 

to his hand, for 9 tricks only.

 –
 T7
 7
 7

 76 N QT98
 A9

W E
–

 – –
 – S –

 J3
–
–
T6

The Only (and Simple) Chance
3NT.  Heart lead, ♣A knocked out, 

another heart, A knocked out.  South 

then claims 10 tricks.

When discovering that the ♠QJ are

doubleton, South wants 11 tricks.

Should we give South his trick?

No.  When not realizing the potential of 

the ♠10, discarding spades on clubs is a 

normal play.

AK8
KQ
K97
 JT983

 9652 N  QJ
 JT985

W E
 72

 A6  JT8532
 A5 S  762

 T743
A643
Q4
KQ4

The Best Chance
4♥.  West cashes the ♠AK and shifts to a 

diamond.  South claims the rest, saying

that he will ruff his last club with the ♥10.  

E-W object because neither hearts nor 

clubs are breaking, and the players agree

to 10 tricks instead (TD not called).

When discovering that the club length is 

with the hearts, South wants 11 tricks.

Should we give South his trick?

Opinions are divided.

 T65
 T52
 A987
Q75

 AKJ7 N Q982
 6

W E
974

 KJ6542 Q3
 84 S  JT93

 43
AKQJ83
 T
 AK62

Trumps Are Out (1)
4♠. ♥A,A, ♥K, heart ruff.  South then

claims the rest minus the ♣A.

East objects because he has the ♠10.

Do we accept the claim?

Yes.  Clearly South is aware of the risk of 

another heart ruff, and he knows that he 

can afford to ruff high and plans to do so.

KJ975
Q87
 3
K653

 63 N  T8
 AK54

W E
 3

 AKJ7  Q9542
 A94 S QJT82

AQ42
 JT962
 T86
 7
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Trumps Are Out (2)
Spade contract.  Declarer finally won a 

trick and claims the rest, making no 

statement.

East objects because he has the ♠J 

guarded.

Do we accept the claim?

Yes.  South knows that trumps are out 

and will notice, to his surprise, that they

are 4-0.  He will enter dummy for a spade 

finesse.

 975
Q
 83
 6

 – N  J863
 542

W E
93

 J7 Q
 94 S –

 AKQT42
 8
 –
 –

Trumps Are Out (3)
Spade contract.  West showed at least 5-5 

in the minors in the bidding; East is 

marked with a diamond void at this point.  

Declarer finally won a trick and claims

the rest, making no statement.

East objects because he has the ♠J 

guarded.

Do we accept the claim?

As before, South will enter dummy.  Might

he play a diamond?

 975
Q42
K
 7

 – N  J863
 52

W E
987

 J97 –
 9642 S 3

AKQT42
T
 3
 –

Trumps Are Out (4)
Spade contract.  E-W play the ♥AK.  

South ruffs and plays trumps.  West wins

the second and shifts to a diamond.  

South then faces his hand, claiming the 

rest.

West objects because he has the ♠10.

Do we accept the claim?

South must have forgotten the ♠10 for a 

claim to make sense.  Might he cross with 

a diamond after cashing the AKQ?

 94
 42
 AKQ8643
 83

 AT7 N –
QT985

W E
AKJ73

 T95  J72
 K6 S QT742

 KQJ86532
 6
 –
 AJ95

Summary
Guidelines for claims should include examples of various kinds which

illustrate how big errors we can imagine under ”normal play”.

Some recurring questions which should be answered are, given that declarer

made no statement:

 Is any order of cashing supposed high cards ”normal”?

 Is any time for conceding a trick ”normal”?

 Is any way of crossing to draw trumps ”normal”?

Final disclaimer:  We cannot make guidelines that cover all possible cases.  

Nevertheless, having collections of examples – also simple ones – is 

invaluable for TDs who want to make consistent rulings.


