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You have 2hrs 30 mins to complete the attached online test (BDPOTxxx) 

After completing this test rename or “save as” replacing the xxx with your 3 
digit ID.   
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 and send this file (with answers) to bdpwks21@gmail.com before 22:30 
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INSTRUCTIONS 

1. You may use the law book and the Commentary ( http://www.worldbridge.org/wp-
content/uploads/2019/01/2017LawsCommentary.pdf) but you may NOT consult nor speak 
to anyone else concerning the questions or answers to this test. Before returning the test 
you must sign the declaration below the last question test by typing your name and NBO 
membership number.  

2. The answers to all questions must include the Law number(s). Use the full Law number, for 

example 64C1 not just 64. Include all laws if more than one law applies to the situation.  

3. Assume all situations occur at fairly high level competition, unless otherwise noted. 

4. Situations are in pairs competition, match point scoring, unless noted otherwise. 

5. Screens are not in use unless specifically stated. (There are no questions requiring specific 
knowledge of screen regulations or procedures.) 

6. The questions and answers are in Word .docx format so you are not limited for space but 
your answers, written below the question, must be concise and to the point, and not more 
than 2-3 lines.  

7. Do not just quote the Law. Do not write “offender must pass” – write “North must pass”. 

8. Include UI and AI and lead restrictions in your answer if necessary. 

9. For multiple choice questions write only the letter of the best answer (a, b, c ….) without 
explanation unless asked for. Law/s must be stated. 

10. For “YES”/”NO” questions answer YES or NO but without explanation unless asked to do 
so. Law/s must be stated. 

11. All questions carry about the same weight. 

12. You can use accepted bridge abbreviations such as OOT (out of turn, B=bid, L=lead, 
OL=opening lead ), UI, AI (unauthorized and authorized information), BIT (break in tempo), 
LHO, RHO (left and right hand opponent, Pd (partner), SC (system card), LA (logical 
alternative, M (major suit), m (minor suit), F1, GF (forcing for 1 round, game force), PC for 
major Penalty Card, pc for minor penalty card; X = double, and of course TD. 

GOOD LUCK ! 
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YOUR NAME: _________________________ID NUMBER : _______ 

QUESTION 1  

Teams: In the closed room board #5 is marked as East dealer, EW Vulnerable. EW bid and make 4Sx 

(=790) but in attempting to enter the score on the bridgemate it is seen that the board is wrongly 

marked. The TD determines that the board has not yet been played in the open room. 

TD RULING:  

LAW/S:  

 

QUESTION 2     

Pairs. Mitchell. 

During the play of board 15 in round 5 of a 13 round session a player sitting north says that he played 

the same board in the previous session with his cards being in the East hand. Dummy calls the TD. The 

TD allows the hand to be completed and on checking confirms that the same hand was played (arrow 

switched) in the previous session. He checks board 16 and confirms that this too was played 

previously.  

A. Was does the TD do regarding boards 15 and 16?  

 

ANSWER: 

 

LAW/S: 

 

B. Does the TD warn or penalize dummy for calling the TD during the play of the hand?  

YES/NO? 

 

ANSWER: 

 LAW/S:  

 

QUESTION 3     

North opens 2NT, east passes and South bids 2C. TD! 

South wants to replace his bid with bid of 3C 

TD determines that 2C over 1NT is Stayman asking for 4 card majors; 3C asks for 4 or 5 card majors. 

Both bids can be weak.  

HOW DOES THE TD RULE (INCLUDE BIDDING, PLAY AND LEAD RESTRICTIONS: 

 

LAW/S: 

 

 



QUESTION 4     

N E S W 

1♦ 1♥ 1 P 

3 P 3 P 

4 all pass 

There are no alerts. 

West leads a small heart and declarer asks for a review of the bidding. West replies by giving the 

bidding of NS 1-1-3-3-4 without mentioning the heart overcall.  

South goes 1 down and realizes that if she had remembered that East overcalled hearts she would 

have played differently and made her contract. All agree that this was indeed quite likely, and south 

calls the TD and complains about the incorrect review of the bidding by the opponents.  

What is the TD’s decision? 

ANSWER:  

LAW/S:  

 

QUESTION 5     

N E S W 

1 P 1 P 

3 P  

At this stage South alerts North’s 3 bid as agreeing spades and asking about club controls.  

East calls the TD about the late alert. He says he wants to change his pass.  

East’s hand is 7 T542 54 AKT753 

TD RULES: 

(a) TD allows East to change his call 

(b) TD does not allow East to change his call 

(c) TD does not allow East to change his call, but will consider awarding an adjusted score after 

the hand is played. 

ANSWER: 

 

LAW/S: 

  

 

QUESTION 6     
N E S W 

1♦ 1♠` 1 TD! 

TD gives his ruling and South passes. North must pass whenever it is her turn to call. 

The bidding continues 

N E S W 

1♦ 1♠` P 1NT 

P 2♠ P P 

3♦ 3♠ P TD! 



East now realizes that North has bid and asks the TD to replace the 3♦ bid with the legal pass and 

return the contract to 2♠ 

TD RULING:  

LAW/S:  

 

QUESTION 7     

N/--  K 

  42   
   10985 

   Q108754 

 9753     J2 

 K96     AQJ10753 

 764     32 

 AJ6     K9 

 ‘  AQ10864 

   8 

   AKQJ 

   32 
 

South plays 4 and it went heart, another heart ruffed small, spade to the K and diamond to the ace. 

Then South played the A on which east played J. South now claimed the contract (10 tricks 4♠ =) 

without saying anything more, the 9 and 7 from West still in play. West called the TD telling her 
that South didn’t mention anything about the outstanding trumps and that he wants another trick or 
two.   

TD decision is? (a) 4♠= (10 tricks)  (b) 4-1(9 tricks)  (c) 4-2 (8 tricks) 

ANSWER: 

LAW/S: 

 

 QUESTION 8        

South is declarer in 3NT. Dummy has AQJ106 and South with 74 plays 4 towards the 10 

(opponents play 3 and ♣8).  
She enters his own hand again and plays 7, LHO 5. She now says ‘small’ and the defenders want 

her to play 6 now.  

Does the TD allow her to play J or  Q?   

YES/NO? 

 
ANSWER:  
 
LAW/S: 

 

  QUESTION 9     

East makes the opening lead of ♠J out of turn. South tells West to lead anything, and West leads the 

♦A. Dummy is spread and the first trick completed. Now South wants West to lead a spade. West 

objects “you have already said lead anything – you can’t have 2 choices especially after seeing 

dummy.” Must West lead a spade?  



YES/NO? 

ANSWER:   

LAW/S:  

 

QUESTION 10     

North Deals 
None Vul 

♠ 8 5 3 
♥ K 7 5 2 
♦ A Q 9 4 
♣ Q 7 

 

♠ 6 4 2 
♥ J 10 9 
♦ 7 6 
♣ A K 10 9 4 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ A J 
♥ Q 8 6 3 
♦ 10 8 5 3 
♣ J 6 5 

  

 

♠ K Q 10 9 7 
♥ A 4 
♦ K J 2 
♣ 8 3 2 

 

South is declarer in 4 in a multi session competition. 

West takes the first 2 club tricks and continues a third club, trumped 8 by dummy and over-

trumped with J by East.  

South says “giving the A – one down”, and the score of -50 is entered. The revoke is not noticed.  

On arriving home after the competition while looking at the hand records South realizes that East 

revoked. The club’s rules are that a request for a TD ruling may be made until the start of the next 

session, so South phones the TD who says he will deal with it. The next morning the TD contacts East 

who confirms he trumped the 3rd club by mistake.  

The TD rules that South makes 

(a) 9 tricks 

(b) 10 tricks 

(c) 11 tricks 

 

ANSWER: 

 

LAW/S: 

 

QUESTION 11     

W N E S 

 1 2 2 P 

 3 P 3 P 

 3NT  P P P 

North leads 6, dummy 4, South Q and now West asks for a review of the bidding. 

Can the bidding be reviewed at this stage? 

 YES/NO 

ANSWER: 



 

LAW/S: 

 

QUESTION 12     

Board 1 

North Deals 

None Vul 

♠ 10 
♥ A 10 8 7 6 4 
♦ 6 4 
♣ K Q J 9 

 

♠ K 7 6 2 
♥ 3 
♦ Q J 10 9 3 
♣ 10 5 2 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ Q J 9 8 
♥ Q J 5 
♦ A 2 
♣ A 6 4 3 

  

 

♠ A 5 4 3 
♥ K 9 2 
♦ K 8 7 5 
♣ 8 7 

 

 

North is declarer in 3 

East leads QT, A.A and K. North now play 4 from hand and East says “You’re in dummy – you 

must play a diamond.” South plays K and loses 2 diamonds, Q and A; making 9 tricks. 

Now Dummy calls the TD and questions whether a diamond had to be played from the table at trick 

3. TD says no, and now North says if he could play any card from dummy he would make 10 tricks. EW 

agree that this is so. 

 

DIRECTORS RULING? 

 

ANSWER:  

 

LAW/S: 

 

QUESTION 13     
West opens 2 out of turn (5  and 4 minors) North doesn’t accept, and opens 5 and all pass. 

 

WHAT ARE THE LEAD RESTRICTIONS ON EAST? 

 

LAW/S: 

 

 

QUESTION 14     
 

North dealer passes, East passes and South passes but then notices he has 14 cards. West says he has 

12 cards. The TD determines that the extra card is J  

 

WHAT SHOULD THE TD DO? 

 

(a) As west has not yet bid he returns the J to West and says continue playing normally. 

(b) He cancels the board and awards an artificial adjusted score of 50% - 50%.  

(c) He cancels the board and assigns an artificial adjusted score of 60% - 60%.  

(d) He cancels the board and awards an assigned adjusted score. 



(e) He allows the bidding and play to continue and considers awarding an adjusted score when 

play has ended. 

 

ANSWER: 

 

LAW/S:  

 

QUESTION 15     
 

W  N  E  S 

P  1  1  2 

2  3  2  TD! 

 

East tells the TD that he was confused and didn’t realise that his 2 bid was insufficient. 

 

THE CORRECT RULING IS: 

 

(a) East substitutes 3 which shows the same suit as 2 and auction and play continue normally 

(but with the possibility of the TD awarding an adjusted score.). There may be lead 

restrictions on West. 

(b) East substitutes 3 which shows the same suit as 2 and auction and play continues 

normally (but with the possibility of the TD awarding an adjusted score.). There are no lead 

restrictions on West 

(c) East substitutes 3 (a comparable call) and auction and play continue normally (but with the 

possibility of the TD awarding an adjusted score.) There are no lead restrictions on West. 

 

ANSWER: 

 

LAW/S: 

 

QUESTION 16     

TEAMS COMPETITION  

Board 7 

South Deals 

Both Vul 

♠ 8 4 2 
♥ 4 3 2 
♦ A K J 9 6 
♣ J 8 

 

♠ 10 7 5 3 
♥ 9 8 6 
♦ 4 
♣ K Q 10 5 4 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ Q 9 6 
♥ A K Q 
♦ 10 8 7 2 
♣ 9 6 3 

  

 

♠ A K J 
♥ J 10 7 5 
♦ Q 5 3 
♣ A 7 2 

 

West North East South 

      1 NT 



Pass 3 NT All pass   

West leads K, then Q. South plays 7 to the second trick but places his played card pointing to NS.  

Case 1: Dummy draws attention to the wrongly pointed card. TD is called and he tells to correct the 

orientation of the played card and continue playing, but to call him after play ends. West continues 

T won by south’s A. South now takes 5 diamond tricks and finesses the spade Q and makes 9 

tricks. 

Case 2: Play starts as in case 1 but no one remarks on the wrongly pointed card until after the 

diamonds are played, when dummy points out the wrongly placed trick.  TD is called and he tells to 

correct the orientation of the played card and continue playing, but to call him after play ends. 

Declarer finesses the spade Q and makes 9 tricks. 

TD’S RULING 

Case 1:  

 

 

Case 2:  

 

LAW/S: 

 

  

 

QUESTION 17     

 ♠ — 
♥ 2 
♦ — 
♣ 3 

 

♠ — 
♥ Q 
♦ J 
♣ — 

 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ — 
♥ 4 
♦ 3 
♣ — 

  

 

♠ — 
♥ 10 
♦ -- 
♣ A 

 

 

South is playing 5 and has made 9 tricks. In the position above he leads A and East discards 4 

before West has played. TD! 

 

TD Ruling: 

(a) 4 is UI for West but he can play any card. At the end of play TD can decide whether or not 

to give an adjusted or weighted score. 

(b) The TD ruling implies that that declarer can require West to discard a heart. 

(c) South had previously trumped a diamond so West is allowed to discard Q regardless of 

what East discards. 

ANSWER: 

LAW/S: 

 



QUESTION 18   

W  N  E  S 

P  1  P  X 

2  2  3  4 

5  X  P  P 

P 

North leads face down and now realises that South had doubled his 1bid. TD is called. 

TD RULING:  

(a) NS 40%, EW 60% 

(b) NS 40%, EW 40% 

(c) West accepted the double, so play the hand. 

(d) South’s double is cancelled, as is all the bidding after it. South can call what he wants and the 

bidding continues normally. 

(e) South’s double is cancelled, as is all the bidding after it. South can call what he wants and the 

bidding continues but North must pass one round. 

ANSWER: 

LAW/S: 

 

QUESTION 19     

 W N E S 

 P 1 X P 

 1 P  2 

TD is called and gives and explains the options and the bidding continues 

W N E S 

 P 1 X P 

 1 P 2 3 

 

WHAT DOES THE TD TELL ABOUT THE CONTINUATION OF THE AUCTION? EXPLAIN YOUR ANSWER. 

 

LAW/S: 

 

QUESTION 20     

South is declarer in 4 and East has a penalty card J 

West wins a trick and South says “play a spade”. West calls the TD and explains that she does not 

have any spades in her hand. 

WHAT IS THE TD’S RULING? 

LAW/S: 



 

BONUS QUESTION (if you answer this question correctly you will get 5 extra 

points.)     

The Home Team sits in the N/S position in the Open Room and in the E/W position in the Closed 

Room. Team A is the home team 

Team A against Team B. Board 4 

In the open room), NS play 3NTx and make 8 tricks 

In the closed room, NS play 3NT-1 and make 8 tricks, but there was misinformation and the TD gives a 

weighted score: 60% of 1NT+1 40% of 3NT-1 

What is the IMP result at the table? 

ANSWER:         

LAW/S: Weighted scores are dealt with in Law 12C1(c): No further law numbers needed.  

 

DECLARATION 

I hereby confirm that all the answers are my own, and that I have not 

consulted nor spoken to anyone else concerning the questions or answers to 

this test. 

NAME: _______________   

NBO and NBO membership number: _____________________ 

  



BUDAPEST TD WORKSHOP 2021 ONLINE ENTRY TEST 

ANSWERS 

QUESTION 1  

TD RULING: Let the open room also play the wrongly marked board. Results stand 

= no adjustment. Check the marking on board 6 and change if necessary.  

LAW: 2 (last sentence) 

 

QUESTION 2     

ANSWER (i): Cancel all results of Boards 15 and 16 at all tables where it 

was played and award artificial adjusted scores (60-60). Redeal boards 15 and 

16. (Assume scoring program takes care of varying number of results or apply 

Neuberg.)  

Law/s: 6D2 (not 87 – these are not fouled boards) 

ANSWER (ii) NO 

Law/s: 9B1(b) or 43A1(a) 

 

QUESTION 3     

TD RULING, INCLUDING BIDDING, PLAY AND LEAD RESTRICTIONS: 

TD gives West the option of accepting 2. If West does not accept 3 is 

comparable and can be substituted with no rectification (no UI, no lead 

penalties, no restrictions). TD can award an adjusted score if EW damaged. 

LAW/S: 27A1, 23A3, 27D (or 23C) 

 

QUESTION 4     

ANSWER: There must be an adjusted score.  

If we consider not correcting the review (Law 20E) as an infraction then both 

sides are offending and we give a split score (NS 9 tricks, EW -10 tricks). 

If we don’t consider it an infraction then we adjust to 4 for both sides. 

<Both answers were accepted> 

LAW/S: 20D, 20E, 12C1  

 



QUESTION 5     

RULING: (a) TD allows East to change his call 

LAW: 21B1(a) 

  

QUESTION 6   

   

TD RULING:  

The bids of 3♦, 3♠ stand and the auction continues, but north must pass 

whenever it his turn. There are no lead restrictions on South. 

Law: 37A 

 

QUESTION 7     

ANSWER: (a) 4♠= (10 tricks)   

Law: 70C2 

 

 QUESTION 8        

ANSWER: Yes    
Law: 46B heading 
 
 

  QUESTION 9     

ANSWER:  Yes  

Law/s: 50D2 footnote 14 , or 50D2(b) 

 

QUESTION 10     

ANSWER: (b) 10 tricks 

 

Law: 64C1 
 

  



QUESTION 11     

ANSWER: No 

 

LAW: 20C2 (see footnote 6) 

 

QUESTION 12     

 

ANSWER:  9 tricks (+140) for NS,  

  10 tricks (-170) for EW 

LAW: 11A 
 

 

QUESTION 13     
 

North may prohibit East from leading any one suit for as long as East has the 

lead. 

LAW: 26B 
 

 

QUESTION 14     
 

ANSWER   (e) He allows the bidding and play to continue and considers 

awarding an adjusted score when play has ended. 

 

LAW: 13B1  

 

QUESTION 15     
 

ANSWER: (b) 

 

LAW/S: 27B1(a), 27D 

 

QUESTION 16     

TD’S RULING 

Case 1: Table score stands. 

Case 2: Adjusted score 3NT-1 (note team play).  
 

LAW/S: 65B3, 16B3, (42A2) <if only 42A2 then not correct> 

  



 

QUESTION 17     

ANSWER: (b) 

LAW: 57A or 57A 1,2,or 3  

 

QUESTION 18     

 

ANSWER: (d)  

LAW: 36A. (NOT 36C,  17D) 

 

QUESTION 19     

Bidding continues normally with no restrictions except for possible application 

of Law 23C  

3is a comparable call.  

LAW/S: 31A2(a), (23) 

 

QUESTION 20     

WHAT IS THE TD’S RULING? 

West can make any lead, J may be picked up (it is no longer a PC). J is UI for 

West and AI for South 

LAW/S: 59, 50D2(a) 

 

BONUS QUESTION (if you answer this question correctly you will get 5 extra 

points.)     

ANSWER:      Team B gets 6 IMPS 

 

 

 


