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Note:  As long as not otherwise specified, all questions come from high level 

competition by regular partnerships and are played in a team’s event. No 

screens are in use throughout. 

 

Note:  For each question, please state briefly on the answer sheet provided only the 

relevant law and the TD ruling you would give. If you are referring to UI you 

don’t have to mention Law 16; the same applies to scores you give and Law 12. 

 

Note:  State if you need to consult or poll and take your personal opinion as the 

outcome of this poll. 
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F 1)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

 
 

    
1
 : 2♦ is alerted and explained as majors.  

 

The result is minus 2. 

EW call the TD at the end of play and tell him that South did not rectify the explanation given 

by North before the play started. South will say that he forgot that agreement. Decision? 
 
 
  

  K 8 5 4 2  Board  14 

 E / None  6 3 2 

 7 6 5 

 6 3 

 A J 10 6  N  Q 7 

 9 8 7 5 4 
W E 

 A J 

 K 10  9 

 J 5 S  A K 10 9 8 7 4 2 

  9 3  

 K Q 10 

 A Q J 8 4 3 2 

 Q 

W N E S 

  1♣ 2♦
1 

pass 2♠ 3NT pass 

pass 4♠ pass 5♦ 

X All pass   
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F 2)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

South asked the meaning of 3♦ and got the answer ‘diamonds, natural’. Before he leads for 

the first trick, North also asks for the meaning of 3♦ and gets the same answer. North starts 

with ♦Q which appears to be a killing lead. After play West calls the TD and tells him what 

happened, suggesting that UI is used.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  A 9 6 4  Board  5 

 N / NS  10 9 4 3 

 Q 9 

 9 7 3 

 Q J 8 5 2  N  --- 

 K 
W E 

 A Q J 8 7 2 

 J 10 3  A 7 5 4 2 

 A J 4 2 S  10 5 

  K 10 7 3  

 6 5 

 K 8 6 

 K Q 8 6 

W N E S 

 pass 2♥ pass 

2♠ pass 3♦ ? pass 

3NT All pass   
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F 3)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

 

 

South has explained 3♠ as invitational, but North explains it as preemptive before play starts. 

East takes the opportunity offered by the TD to change his last pass in a double.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The contract goes 2 down. 

Is there something left to do for the TD? 
 
 
 
 
  

  J 9 4 3  Board  15 

 S / NS  5 

 8 5 4 2 

 K J 7 6 

 A 5  N  7 

 A J 9 8 6 4 3 
W E 

 Q 10 7 2 

 A Q  J 7 6 3 

 4 3 S  10 9 8 2 

  K Q 10 8 6 2  

 K 

 K 10 9 

 A Q 5 

W N E S 

   1♠ 

2♥ 3♠ pass 4♠ 

5♥ pass pass 5♠ 

All pass    

W N E S 

   1♠ 

2♥ 3♠ pass 4♠ 

5♥ pass pass 5♠ 

pass pass X All pass 
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F 4)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

 

East led a heart for the 9; North won the second trick with ♥A and played a club for the Q, 

small diamond to the A and another club won by East who played another heart for the K in 

South. Now three club tricks and the ♦Q which leads to: 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Declarer then leads a spade from dummy for the ace and, while West plays the ♥Q, claims the 

last trick showing his two kings. EW agree and they start playing the next board. Then West 

realises that declarer has to play one of these kings in trick 12 and calls the TD. Decision?  
 
 
 

  K 7 6  Board  2 

 E / NS  A 8 5 

 A K 5 3 

 7 3 2 

 A 10 9  N  Q 4 3 2 

 Q J 10 9 
W E 

 7 6 4 

 J 9 7  10 8 6 4 

 J 9 8 S  A 5 

  J 8 5  

 K 3 2 

 Q 2 

 K Q 10 6 4 

W N E S 

  pass pass 

pass 1NT pass 3NT 

All pass    

  K 7  Board  2 

 E / NS  --- 

 K 

 --- 

 A  N  Q 4 

 Q 
W E 

 --- 

 J  10 

 --- S  … 

  J 8 5  

 --- 

 --- 

 --- 
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F 5)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

 
1
 : 2NT is alerted and explained as the minors 

 
 

South does not rectify this explanation, though the agreement is ‘natural, 15-18’. 

West starts the play with ♥2 and declarer makes 9 tricks by throwing in West with the ♣J. 

West calls the TD telling him that he would not have bid 3♣ nor have started the ♥2 with the 

right explanation. 

The TD polls and finds out that no player bids 3♣, not with the wrong, not with the right 

explanation. Some would start the ♥2 with wrong, nobody with right explanation.  

TD decision? 
 
 
 
  

  8 4  Board  12 

 W / NS  9 6 5 

 A K 3 2 

 Q 6 3 2 

 A K J 9 7 2  N  5 3 

 2 
W E 

 Q 10 8 7 4 3 

 10 8  Q 7 6 5 

 J 10 8 5 S  7 

  Q 10 6  

 A K J 

 J 9 4 

 A K 9 4 

W N E S 

2♠ pass pass 2NT1 

3♣ 3♦ pass 3NT 

All pass    
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F 6)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

 
1
 : 3♠ is a GF and no preference 

 
 

After the 2NT not being alerted East asks what it means. The answer is: ’20-21’. ‘But my 

partner opened 1♠’ is the reaction. ‘Yes, 20-21’ South repeats. ‘Could you please leave the 

table’ East asks South and then he asks North what the agreement is. ‘Minors’ is the answer. 

South is called back and NS reach slam. After 12 tricks made East calls the TD and tells what 

happened. ‘Without asking and giving that stupid answer they would probably have played 

3♣’, he adds. Furthermore South should have bid 3♣ anyway, still assuming partner to show 

20-21. Decision? 
 
 
 
 
  

  A  Board  32 

 W / EW  5 

 A K 10 7 6 3 

 K Q 6 4 2 

 K Q 8 5 4  N  J 9 7 2 

 A 10 6 4 
W E 

 K Q 7 2 

 9 8  J 2 

 J 7 S  10 8 3 

  10 6 3  

 J 9 8 3 

 Q 5 4 

 A 9 5 

W N E S 

1♠ 2NT pass 3♠
1 

pass 4NT pass 5♣ 

pass 6♦ All pass  
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F 7)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

 
 

2NT shows the minors, 4♦ is a splinter. West takes considerable time before bidding 5♠. 
 

West makes 12 tricks and North calls the TD complaining about the 6♠-bid after the (agreed) 

hesitation. The TD finds out that EW do not play forcing passes. The TD has to poll. What 

question(s) he has to ask? Assume, you’re poll, what is your opinion? 
 
 
 
  

  5  Board  3 

 S / EW  10 6 

 Q J 10 7 5 

 A 9 5 4 2 

 A K J 10 3  N  9 7 6 4 2 

 K 8 
W E 

 A Q 9 7 4 

 A 9 6  3 

 Q J 6 S  K 10 

  Q 8  

 J 5 3 2 

 K 8 4 2 

 8 7 3 

W N E S 

   pass 

1♠ 2NTA 4♦
A 5♣ 

… 5♠ pass 6♠ All pass 
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F 8)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

North leads ♦A and gets an encouraging signal from partner. Now he asks whether the 3♠-bid 

is forcing and gets the answer ‘nonforcing’, not corrected by West. A switch to ♥2 in trick 2 

gives declarer 12 tricks. After play West admits that he considered 3♠ to be forcing. North 

calls the TD and tells him that he would not have played the ♥2 with this information. There 

is no proof for either meaning of 3♠. What is the TD decision?  
 
 
 
  

  7 5 4 2  Board  6 

 E / EW  2 

 A K 7 6 2 

 J 5 3 

 K Q 10 9 8  N  A 6 

 A 9 
W E 

 K Q 7 6 

 10 9  8 4 

 A 8 6 4 S  K Q 10 7 2 

  J 3  

 J 10 8 5 4 3 

 Q J 5 3 

 9 

W N E S 

  1♣ 2♥ 

3♠ pass 4♠ All pass 
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F 9)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

1
 : South explains the X as showing one long suit.  

 
 

West calls the TD after the 2NT bid, which seems not in accordance with the given 

explanation. North starts talking but the TD tells him to keep silent. After the auction has 

finished North tells that the double showed the same strength as the opening bid or stronger, 

and South now agrees. East does not want to change his last pass and leads a small diamond 

after which North makes 9 tricks. Is there anything left to do?  
 
 
  

  K J 6  Board  24 

 W / None  A 10 4 3 

 K 7 

 A 10 7 5 

 A Q 10  N  8 7 3 2 

 Q 5 2 
W E 

 J 9 8 

 A 10 4  Q 8 5 3 

 Q 9 4 2 S  8 3 

  9 5 4  

 K 7 6 

 J 9 6 2 

 K J 6 

W N E S 

1NT X1 pass 2♣ 

pass 2NT pass 3NT 

All pass    
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F 10)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

 
 

East leads ♣A, K and 8. Declarer ruffs in trick 3 with ♥J discarding a small spade. He draws 

two rounds of trumps and then a small diamond to the ace. ♥Q in trick 7 reveals the 4-2 break. 

Then ♦K on which East plays a club, ♦6 to dummy on which East now follows suit, 

establishing the revoke. North is going 3 off now and calls the TD reporting the revoke. 

Decision? 
 
 
  

  A 10 4 3  Board  19 

 S / EW  Q 5 3 2 

 A K 6 

 10 2 

 Q 9 7 5  N  K J 8 

 10 8 7 4 
W E 

 9 6 

 4 2  Q 5 

 J 9 3 S  A K 8 7 6 4 

  6 2  

 A K J 

 J 10 9 8 7 3 

 Q 5 

W N E S 

   1♦ 

pass 1♥ 2♣ 2♦ 

pass 2♠ pass 3♥ 

pass 4♥ All pass  
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F 11)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

 
 
 

The TD is called by South after the 4♥-bid by North. South tells that he assumes to have  

overheard the result of this board at an adjacent table, in a different match. The TD proposes 

to continue the bidding and play and, if necessary, adjusting the score later. The players agree.  

South makes 11 tricks and the TD is called back. Now West shows a piece of paper, on which 

South before they started to play this board wrote down ‘6♣ –1’. The TD concludes that with 

this happening it is impossible to ask from South to bid slam. Looking at the frequencies he 

finds out that half of the field bids slam and goes down, half game in 5♣ which always makes. 

Their opponents did bid the slam. Decision? 
 
 
  

  A J 6 3  Board  7 

 S / All  5 

 5 4 

 K J 10 7 4 3 

 Q 10 9 8 7  N  K 5 4 2 

 10 8 4 2 
W E 

 A 9 7 6 3 

 10 6  A J 7 

 5 2 S  9 

  ---  

 K Q J 

 K Q 9 8 3 2 

 A Q 8 6 

W N E S 

   1♦ 

pass 1♠ 2♥ 3♣ 

pass 4♣ pass 4♦ 

pass 4♥ pass 5♣ 

All pass    
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F 12)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

     

 

 
 
 
 

1 : precision 
2 : either hearts or NT 
3 : 7 or more hearts 
4 : explained as 1 ace and a void in clubs 

 

After he bid 4♦ North discovers to have 14 cards. TD! The TD puts the ♣7 “back” in South. 
 

West starts ♠5 and South makes 12 tricks. West calls the TD and tells him that the given 

explanation about 6♣ doesn’t fit with South hand. Decision? 
 
 
  

  K Q J 7  Board  1 

 N / None  A 9 6 

 A Q 

 J 8 (7) 4 2 

 5 3 2  N  10 8 6 4 

 10 
W E 

 K 4 

 K 10 4 3  9 6 5 2 

 A K 10 9 5 S  Q 6 3 

  A 9  

 Q J 8 7 5 3 2 

 J 8 7 

 (7) 

W N E S 

 1♣
1 pass 1♠

2 

pass 1NT pass 3♥
3 

pass 3♠ pass 4♣ 

pass 4♦ pass 4♠ 

pass 4NT pass 6♣
4 

pass 6♥ All pass  
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F 13)  

 

In the auction on board 7 North has bid 4♥ and East thought for a while before he passed. 

West then bids 4♠. That becomes the contract which is just made due to an established revoke 

by South resulting in one extra trick. The TD decides that 4♠ is not allowed and that NS will 

make 9 tricks in 4♥. 
 

a) Teams. At the other table EW (team A) played 2♠ +1. Calculate the score in imps on 

this board for both teams. 
 

b) Pairs. The frequency table without this board shows (scores are for NS) 
 

+ 620     1 time 

+ 140   2 times 

+ 100   2 times 

– 100  3 times 

– 140  2 times  
 

Calculate the matchpoints for both pairs.  
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

F 14) Board 4, Dealer W, All vul 

 

 

W N E S 

   1♠
1 

    

1♣ pass 1♥ 1NT2 

2♥ pass 4♥ All pass 

 
 

1
 : 1♠ was OOT and not accepted 

2
 : shows the two other suits and is constructive 

 

What does the TD tell about possible lead penalties?  
 
 
 
 
  



 European Bridge League 7th Tournament Directors Workshop Belfast 2020 

Answers Final Test Belfast 2020 
 
 

F 1) North’s explanation differs from South’s idea about their agreement and is UI. South 

should take the 2♠ and 4♠ bid as a long suit and running to 5♦ is a clear offense, worth a 

clear penalty. The TD awards an adjusted score of 4♠X –4. South is not obliged to tell 

the opponents that he made a misbid.  
 

F 2) This question led to different opinions which means that it needs the attention of the 

WBF Laws Committee. 

a) South is allowed to ask questions and his hand doesn’t give the impression that he 

wanted to draw partner’s attention to diamonds. North did not have UI and may start 

what he wants. NS are lucky, not offenders. 

b) Strange lead from North, so apparently South drew North’s attention to the diamond 

lead. North has a logical alternative. But the contract probably goes down anyway.  
 

F 3) East only may change his pass in a double if he would have doubled 5♠ with only the 

right information about the 3♠-bid available. Reason to have doubts, but peers will give 

the answer. We go for a not doubled 5♠ (Law 21B1). 
 

F 4) We are in Law 69B2. EW only get another trick if it is likely they would have won one. 

North has at least a 50% chance to keep the right one, random or better. So, no trick for 

the defenders.  

 

F 5) A couple of questions to be answered. Would South bid 3NT without the UI that partner 

takes him for having showed the minors? Poll. We assume he would have bid 3NT. The 

poll shows that West should be allowed another lead. South will put his money on the 

♥Q in East and wins his contract anyway.  

 

F 6) EW are responsible themselves for South’s awakening, North did not do anything 

wrong. No UI used, score stands. 

 

F 7) ‘What does the hesitation suggest?’ Our opinion is that is more likely that West thinks 

about pass or X than about slam. Score stands. 

 

F 8) The TD has to assume that there was a misexplanation, which is an infraction. If North 

is told that the 3♠-bid is forcing he will not switch to ♥2. The TD adjusts the score to 

4♠  +1. 
 

F 9) There is UI for North here. He now knows that South is looking for his long suit. The 

TD needs to ask about North’s idea of the meaning of 2♣. This leads to a contract of 2♣ 

or 2♥ being played, making 8 or 9 tricks (possibly weighted).  
 

F 10) The automatic penalty is 1 trick but what happens without the revoke? North plays his 

last trump and wins all remaining tricks; 4♥ makes. Therefore apply Law 64C. 

 

F 11) The TD cancels the result on this board and applies Law 86B1. A weighted score using 

the frequencies: half slam one off and half game just made. 6 imps, 50% of (+600 + 

100) for the NS-side at this table.  
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F 12) This is a tricky South player. Apparently the TD used Law 13B1 to let the board being 

played with the possibility to adjust later. It looks peculiar but Law 13 does not make 

the possession of the ♣7 in South UI. But this knowledge certainly caused the psychic 

6♣-bid and so influenced the bidding. What would have happened if the board had been 

played normally? North would have discovered to miss two key cards. So the likely 

contract is 5♥, which is just made with the lead of ♣A (K).  
 

F 13) 

a) For the innocent side (team A) the expected result is better than the normal result 

(the result without the infraction) so they are not damaged by the infraction. They 

get –10 imps (–620 + 140). Team B gets the result had the irregularity not 

occurred: –1 imp (+100 – 140).  
 

b) Since the infraction did not damage NS there is no compensation: they collect a 

zero for –620. The normal result for EW is +100 (North 4♥ –1) which gives them 

13 mp. 

 
F 14) There is no lead penalty, because 1NT is a comparable bid. Laws 23A2, 26A. 


