

MINUTES OF THE EBL ORDINARY GENERAL ASSEMBLY Held at 10.00 a.m. on Saturday 9th June 2018 at Andromeda hotel, Ostend - Belgium

Present: Yves Aubry President

Marc de Pauw 1st Vice President Radek Kielbasinski 2nd Vice President Paul Porteous Honorary Secretary

Josef Harsanyi Treasurer

Sevinc Atay **Executive Committee Member** Jurica Carić **Executive Committee Member** David Harris **Executive Committee Member Executive Committee Member** Jan Kamras **Executive Committee Member** Eric Laurant **Executive Committee Member** Eitan Levy Jafet Olafsson **Executive Committee Member** Filippo Palma **Executive Committee Member**

Gianarrigo Rona President Emeritus José Damiani President Emeritus Bill Pencharz Hon. President Panos Gerontopoulos Hon. Member

Catherine Vitry Secretary to the President

Also present were the delegates from the following 44 (forty-four) National Bridge Organisations (NBOs), having the indicated number of votes in accordance with art. 6.1. of the Statutes:

Belarus	1	D. Dobrin - Proxy	Lebanon	2	L. Thuillez -Proxy
Belgium	4	Ph. Coenraets	Lithuania	1	E. Vainikonis
Bosnia&Herze	1	Branko Refi -Proxy	Luxembourg	1	P. Banchereau
Bulgaria	3	M. Nikolova	Malta	1	M. Carroll -Proxy
Croatia	2	G. Borevković	Monaco	1	N. Frey
Cyprus	1	Ch. Syrakopoulou-Proxy	Netherlands	7	K. Vrieze
Czech Rep.	1	M. Macura	Norway	4	K-A. Opsal
Denmark	5	N. Rasmussen	Poland	4	M. Malysa
England	6	G. Rainsford	Portugal	3	I. Araújo
Estonia	2	S. Sester	Romania	2	R. Spiridonescu
Faroe Isl	1	O. Winthereig	Russia	3	K. Rabkin
Finland	3	P. Kuokkanen	San Marino	1	A. Pecci
France	7	P. Grenthe	Scotland	4	M. Ash
Georgia	1	A. Fitzpatrick -Proxy	Serbia	2	J. Zoranović –Proxy
Germany	5	K-U. Benthack	Slovakia	1	P. Belcak
Greece	4	A. Athanassiadis	Slovenia	1	M. Pilipović -Proxy
Hungary	3	A. Magyar	Spain	4	J. Sabaté
Iceland	2	O. Thorsteinsdottir	Sweden	5	P. Jannersten
Ireland	4	H. Curran	Switzerland	3	F. Piedra
Israel	4	G. Ofir	Turkey	4	L. Özgül
Italy	5	F. Ferlazzo	Ukraine	1	O. Rovyshin
Latvia	1	K. Rubins	Wales	2	J. Pottage



EUROPEAN BRIDGE LEAGUE

The President welcomed the delegates to the EBL Ordinary General Assembly.

1. Confirmation of Roll Call

The Honorary Secretary, Paul Porteous, took the Roll Call of delegates which showed the presence of the above mentioned NBOs. He certified the presence of 44 NBOs out of a total of 46 having the right to vote and of 123 votes out of a total of 128.

The President, in accordance with art. 6.4.b. of the Statutes, declared the Assembly valid and opened the proceedings.

2. Appointment of the Assembly Committee

Mike Ash / Scotland, Charlotte Fuglsang / Denmark and Stephan Magnusson / Switzerland were appointed as members of the Assembly Committee.

3. Approval of the Minutes of the General Assembly, Budapest 2016

The Assembly approved the minutes of the General Assembly held in Budapest on 24th June 2016, on the proposal of Bill Pencharz, Hon. President, seconded by Marek Malysa/Poland.

4. President's Report

The President presented his report to the Assembly. A copy of his report is appended to these minutes.

5. Approval of the President's Report

The President invited questions and comments on his report from the delegates.

None were forthcoming; the report was adopted on the proposal of Koos Vrieze/Netherlands, seconded by Philippe Banchereau/Luxemburg. The President thanked the delegates.

Charlotte Fuglsang/Denmark suggested that the EBL should send out the President's report before the General Assembly to give time to the Delegates to read it and be prepared with possible questions. Paul Porteous reported that it would be considered for the future.

6. Treasurer's Report

The President called upon the Treasurer, Josef Harsanyi, to address the Assembly.

The Treasurer presented the report on the financial position of the EBL, including the audited accounts for 2016 and 2017, the membership figures 2016 and 2017, and an overview of income and expenses for the years 2016/2017. The Treasurer's report was adopted on the proposal of Gianarrigo Rona, President Emeritus, seconded by Harold Curran/Ireland.



7. Approval of the Balance Sheet and accounts 2016/2017 and Auditors' Report.

The Assembly approved the 2016 and 2017 balance sheet, accounts and auditors' report. Their adoption was proposed by Gianarrigo Rona, President Emeritus, seconded by Harold Curran/Ireland.

8. Examination of the budget 2018

The Treasurer presented the budget for 2018.

9. Membership dues and other fees

Josef Harsanyi addressed this topic. The Assembly approved the dues.

10. Election of the President and of the 12 EBL Executive Committee Members for the legislature 2014/2018

a) Election of the President

The 2nd Vice-President, Radoslaw Kielbasinski, took the meeting to replace Yves Aubry during the election of the new President.

The Hon. Secretary explained the voting procedure to the attendees.

Following a secret ballot, the 2nd Vice-President announced that 123 ballots had been handed out and reported the respective votes of each candidate as follows:

1st vote

Mr Yves Aubry 45 votes
Mr Marc De Pauw 33 votes
Mr Jan Kamras 45 votes

Mr Marc de Pauw was then eliminated from the election and a second set of ballot papers was issued.

2nd vote

Mr Yves Aubry 52 votes
Mr Jan Kamras 70 votes

The 2nd Vice-President thus declared Jan Kamras elected as President of the EBL.

The President elect addressed the assembly to thank them for their support and thanked Yves Aubry for his two terms as President of the EBL and his hard work during this period. The Assembly rose to give Yves Aubry a warm applause.



b) Election of the 12 EBL Executive Committee Members

Initially 22 candidates had notified that they would compete for these positions. One candidate withdrew before the ballot papers were prepared and as Jan Kamras was no longer a candidate for the Executive Committee, the final number was 20 candidates.

Following a secret ballot, the President announced that 123 ballots had been handed out and reported the respective votes of each candidate as follows:

50 votes
10 votes
50 votes
37 votes
57 votes
39 votes
72 votes
68 votes
27 votes
39 votes
64 votes
20 votes
76 votes
87 votes
14 votes
95 votes
12 votes
56 votes
85 votes
89 votes

The President thus declared Sevinç Atay, Peter Belcak, Igor Chalupec, Philippe Cronier, Marc De Pauw, Josef Harsanyi, Eric Laurant, Eitan Levy, Gilad Ofir, Jafet Ólafsson, Kari-Anne Opsal and Paul Porteous elected as EC Members of the EBL.



11. Ratification of the admission to membership of NBOs

There were no candidates for admission.

12. Questions and proposed resolutions sent by the NBO's

None

13. Various - Any other Business

None

There being no further business, the President thanked all the delegates for their attendance and contribution, and at 12:10 p.m. declared the Ordinary General Assembly closed.