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WARMING 

 

Screens 

Board 2. Dealer East 

Board 1 played and registered, South closes the screen and puts the second board on the table.  

 

South and West pick up the cards and push the tray to the other side. 

West, counting his cards, is thinking of the play of the previous hand and suspects a possible revoke 

by the declarer in a 4♠ contract (10 tricks made). 

West tells South he would like to call the TD and, turning his head, looks at the TD, so he calls him 

with a gesture. 

While the TD is arriving at the table the tray is pushed by North with a “Pass” by East (dealer). 

The TD tries to determine the sequence of the events to decide if he has to apply law 64A1 or 64B4. 

He discovers that on the North/East side no one realized that the TD was called. 

It is not possible to determine if West summoned TD before or after East’s call. 

The revoke actually happened and TD has to apply 64A1 (4♠-1) or 64B4 (4♠ made but it is possible 

to apply 64C). 

 

Tip 

Undoubtedly the auction period had started (17A1) but this is not enough not to penalize the revoke. 

If the TD cannot establish which action happened before the other he could consider that the actions 

were simultaneous. This situation is not covered by the Laws (33 is related to simultaneous calls 

and 58A concerns simultaneous play). 

What do we have to do? 

 

In the insoluble cases I apply the law….play bridge ! 

In other words, I try not to assign anomalous results. 

Don’t forget that, especially in a pair tournament, our assigned score changes all the other scores. 

Practically, in the example given, I will apply 64B4 verified with 64C.  

This approach (only in 50/50 cases !!!) may be used in other similar situations. The important thing 

is to remember that 51/49  is not the same as 50/50 !!!!! 

 
NB I apply this approach only if it is impossible to determine the facts and the two sides don’t 

dispute! If there is a dispute about the facts and I cannot determine what happens then I assign the 

worst to both pairs. 

 

 

STEP BY STEP 

In many occasions the TD doesn’t need to go through all the steps to arrive at a conclusion because 

the right sequence of the questions will keep out some options and simplify the case. 

Example A 

SCREENS: the most common case happens when the two partners have received different 

information/explanations. 

  



 - 3 - 

 European Bridge League 10th Main Tournament Directors Course Prague 2016 

First Step 

The right explanation is verifiable on the C.C. or from the system which the players have with them 

(seldom a player persuades us he was the one who made a mistake or we are able to verify with 

another pair which plays the same system). 

We can discover that: 

a) The player who has had the wrong explanation does not complain about any 

damage….OUR JOB IS FINISHED! 

b) The player who has had the wrong explanation complains about damage. 

We go on to the … 

Second Step 

As usual we will go around finding a panel of the same class as the player. 

If it is a bidding problem I prefer to ask men when the player involved is a man or women 

when it is a woman. It is a matter of style ! 

If it is a play problem it does not matter. 

Remember that it is not enough asking “what do you bid with these cards” having given the 

right explanation but also “what do you bid if you are told … (wrong explanation)”. 

In case the bid (or the play) chosen is different an adjusted score will be assigned which could be 

weighted based on the opinion of the panel. Something more has to be given to the innocent side. If 

we obtain 0.5 we round in favour of the innocent side. 

If the panel takes the same action with the right and with the wrong information we ask whether it is 

easier to do it with one explanation or the other. 

Remember that in many cases (typically after a hesitation) it is enough to know whether the experts 

bid or not. 

Double step 

When it is not possible to establish what the right explanation is: 

One of the explanations is assumed given to both players and we verify with the usual methods the 

possible damage and its extent. 

After that we give the other explanation to both players doing the same. 

We assign the worst to the offending side. 

Remember, during this check both players get the same information! 
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Example B 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

2♥ = not forcing but not weak 

3♠ = preempt 

Result: 5♥ +1 

At the end of the play East summons the TD complaining that, after 4♠, the tray has been a long 

time on the other side of the screen. 

 

First Step 

The TD has to verify if there was a hesitation.  

Law16B2. When a player considers that an opponent has made such information available and that 

damage could well result he may announce […] that he reserves the right to summon the TD later 

(the opponents should summon the TD immediately if they dispute the facts that unauthorized 

information might have been conveyed).  

The Screen Regulations state that, with screens in use, a hesitation has to be more then 20” long. 

This takes into account difficult sequences but also the possibility (in true usually not used by the 

players) to vary the time to push back the tray. 

In case of different opinions looking at the cards of the player involved could help. 

  J  Board  5  
 N / NS  A 7 2 

 8 7 4 3 2 

 A K Q 4 

 9 6 5 3 2  N  K Q 10 8 7 

 J 4 3 
W E 

 10 

 Q 10 6  A K J 9 

 9 2 S  10 8 5 

  A 4  

 K Q 9 8 6 5 

 5 

 J 7 6 3 

W N E S 

 1♦ 1♠ 2♥  
A 

3♠  
A 

4♥
 

4♠ … pass 

pass 5♣ pass 5♥ 

All pass    
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This first step seldom solves the problem but sometimes we discover that the hesitation was made 

by the partner of the player who complains! 

In this example NS admit the hesitation but North affirms that, having demanded the game red 

against green, they are in a forcing pass situation. 

Second Step 

If North is right of course we don’t need to go on, for this reason the first action will be to verify if 

the panel believes that this is a Forcing Pass situation. 

If all the panel agree we stop and keep the score. 

If we find different or doubtful opinion we move to the next step 

(Obviously if the forcing pass has been alerted at the table by North the problem does not exist.) 

Third step 

Playing with screens we now need to check if we can know who was likely to hesitate. 

If the panel supposes that, in the sequence, both players have reason to hesitate we can stop here but 

if someone identifies the culprit or charges most of the responsability to the guilty side we move to 

the next step. 

N.B. without screen this step does not exist 

Fourth Step 

To go on now we need to know if the hesitation has an unambigous meaning or not.. 

If the meaning of the hesitation is unambigous or at least probable we move to the next step. 

If there is not a probable meaning or even two conflicting meanings we must check if the partner 

has played at two tables or not. 

In the example given imagine that panel affirms that it is not clear if South was thinking to double 

or bid 5♥. Well, if North has doubled we move to the next step but if he bid 5♥ we stop here. 

Fifth Step 

Only after having passed all the previous sieves we ask the panel what they bid with North’s cards 

and, if the worst decision for NS could be considered a logical alternative, we adjust the score. 

N.B. The “Code of practice” is very strict about the “logical alternative”: This means that also if 

everyone bids we must ask “do you think strongly to pass?”. If we get the majority of the panel 

thinking strongly to pass we have to adjust the score. 
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NASTY PROBLEMS 
 

a) During the bidding a player corrects an earlier explanation but the opponent cannot change 

his bid because his partner has already bid (21B1). 

b) After the opening lead defender discovers the information he got does not correspond to the 

hand described; usually it is dummy’s hand but sometimes is the hand of the declarer  (for 

example declarer ruffs the lead, and, asked by dummy, confirms not to have cards in the 

suit but the explanation given denied a void). 

The method used by most of the TDs in these cases is basically passive. 

 

In case a) they reserve the rights of the player who cannot change his bid anymore and invite to 

continue (from this moment they know the true meaning of the bid involved). 

Only at the end, if summoned, they will collect the complaints of the player (often unfortunately 

correlated to the knowledge of the hand) and the consulting with the experts will begin - asking 

what is their bid having had the right information in time.  

 

In case b) the TD tells the players to play the hand reserving innocent side’s rights. 

 

So, in both cases, at the end, TD finds himself in an unstable situation with many sequential 

questions. 

In both situations the innocent player has the possibility to play at two or more tables and, having 

seen all the cards, finding the good choice is easier!!! 

The goal of the method suggested is to reduce the choice of the innocent side to a maximum of two 

tables.  

 

Of course we presume that the second explanation given is correct (case a) and the first 

explanation given is wrong (case b). 

In a) I suggest that the TD should ask the player at the moment what his bid would have been 

having had the right information at the right time. 

This is a big step forward  but poses some difficulties 

I suggest that the TD should say: 

“Certainly I will consider that you might have now some more information but could you 

please write here (give him a PEN and a NOTEPAD hiding what he is writing to the opponent!!!) 

what your bid would have been having had the right information in time?....if you prefer you can 

bring the player out of the table….to whisper in an ear… or what you believe is better!!! 

I believe this is not a waste of time. To ask at the end of the play is more annoying and a lot less 

significant. 

If the player tries to refuse, force him to do it explaining that later complaints will be less 

significant. 

Clearly the next action (if asked) will be easier (sometimes already solved) but there is another 

action that we can do: 
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 we know the substitute bid but his partner does not know it so we can ask him what is the meaning 

of some bid (including the one suggested). Most of the time, knowing the hand, he will give us the 

right answer but sometimes we could discover that the innocent side has no means to find the best 

contract !!!.  

Case b) is easier. 

“Certainly I will consider that you have seen the dummy but anyway could you please show me 

what card you would have led?” 

Believe me, a lot of problems have already found the solution! 

In a) it will be easier to suppose the continuation of the bid. 

Giving an adjusted score we have to take care that the player involved has had an advantage but not 

as big as if we would have asked at the end of the play. 

In any case, having been helped by a panel, we must judge if the possible call suggested is 

admissible. 

 

In b)  we may have already solved the problem if the alternative lead does not change (or worsen !) 

the result. 

If it is a better lead, asking the panel, we must evaluate how much help was given looking at 

dummy cards (REMEMBER: if you ask at the end he knows dummy cards and the full hand!)  

Someone could disapprove this method asserting that the answers to our question are given “under 

pressure” but the reality is that you bid and play under pressure!!! 
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(1) 2♥ explained at first as ♠ + min but…when the tray comes back East reminds they play it as  

♠♣ 

(2) Fit inviting + 

(3) P/C 

  

If TD makes a passive action South will chose later the best bid… knowing the hand! 

If we know now his substitute bid his options diminish. 

South could propose to bid 3♣ having this options: 

- X to penalize at least one of the suit (now known) of the opponent 

- 2NT natural 

- 2♠ inviting + in ♦ 

- 3♣ fit ♥,inviting+ 

- 3♦ long ♦, weak 

- 3♥ fit ♥, weak 

The final contract would have been probably the same 4♥ which went 2 off after the lead ♠A and ♦. 

 

If TD has made a PASSIVE action: 

At the end of the play South definitely will complain that, with the right information, he would have 

chosen another bid (2NT or X). 

  K 6 2  Board 12  
 W / NS  J 9 7 6 5 

 A Q 2 

 K J 

 A  N  J 9 7 5 4 

 A Q 4 3 
W E 

 2 

 10 9 8 5 4 3  7 6 

 3 2 S  A 9 8 5 4 

  Q 10 8 3  

 K 10 8  

 K J 

 Q 10 7 6 

W N E S 

pass 1♥ 2♥ 
(1) 

2NT
 (2) 

3♣
 (3) 

4♥ All pass  
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And now… we begin our pilgrimage to the experts who usually give us different opinions and we 

start to calculate the different numbers of tricks in the different contracts to get a reasonable 

weighted score.  

 

If TD has made an ACTIVE action: 

If South has chosen a bid which does not change the final result of the board, everything is finished 

(no risk to assign an undeserved adjusted score!). 

If the bid chosen improves the score of the non-offending side we have to collect experts’ opinions 

(possibly asking opinion also about non-offender’s suggested bid if they have chosen another) and 

give the appropriate adjusted score. 

As you certainly have realized, during the bidding it is not easy to decide what is better (4♥? 3NT? 

Penalize opps?) 

In the unlucky case we are going to meet the same number / kind of problems that we usually 

have with a passive action but…in many case, what we decide is what would have happened. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2♣: Stayman  2♦: no 4card major  3♥: 4♥ + 5+♠ 

Lead ♦J …TD!!!! 

  9 8 2  Board  1  
 N / none  J 9 6 4 2 

 K Q 3 

 A 10 

 K 6 5  N   

 8 7 
W E 

  

 J 10 9 8 5   

 Q J 4 S   
    

  

  

  

W N E S 

 pass pass 1NT
 

pass
 

2♣
 

pass 2♦ 

pass 3♥ pass 3NT 

All pass    
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West complains about information received and South admits he made a mistake (“I play Smolen 

with another partner”). 

A Passive TD lets the play continue and, at the end, West will propose as automatic the best lead 

for the defense. 

An Active TD will invite West to show him what his lead would have been with the right 

information (if the dummy is on the other side close the screen and remember that anyway we 

must consider that he has seen the dummy). 

Here is not important to know what the best lead is but to know how to act. 

(OK!!! If you are curious the best lead is ♣, partner has ♣K9xxx and ♥A, but at the table West 

chose ♠) 

. 

a) If the lead chosen is inconsequential or detrimental. No problem: we keep the score. In this 

case a passive action could give the non offending side an undeserved weighted score 

because of the opinion of the panel. 

 

b) A different lead is better. In this case the TD asks the panel and if they chose another lead 

asks a possible second lead and / or what they think about the different lead proposed by 

the non-offender. Clearly the rounding usually given to the non-offending side has to be 

more…rounded. 
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KNOWING TOO MUCH HURTS? 

When screens are in use sometimes we meet this kind of problem: 

- a player makes a bid and immediately realizes he has forgotten the system (25B and NOT 

25A) 

-  he informs the screenmate about the meaning of the bid he has made 

Now the screenmate knows the cards of the opponent but also how the bid will be explained on the 

other side of the screen and… 

We are going to look at some examples but before that, we state that in these situations score 

stands. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

East askes about 1NT strength, North replies 12-14 but immediately says “oops, I made a mistake, 

vulnerable we play 15-17”. 

Now East knows North has a weak balanced hand which on the other side will be described as 

strong. He has to chose among the overcalls over strong no trump and …hope. 

(1) ♠ + Minor 

(2) Relay 

Result: 4♠ - 2 

  6 2  Board 13  
 N / all  A 9 7 6 

 Q 10 7 

 A Q 5 2 

 A 8 4  N  K J 9 7 5 

 K J 5 4 
W E 

 2 

 K J 3 2  A 9 8 5 4 

 K J S  7 6 

  Q 10 3  

 Q 10 8 3 

 6 

 10 9 8 4 3 

W N E S 

 1NT 2♠ 
(1) 

pass
 

2NT 
(2) 

pass 3♦ pass 

4♠ All pass   
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At the end of the play East summoned the TD complaining that if he had been in the other side of 

the screen with the only information of a strong NT, he would have not bid with this nastiness: “I 

decided to risk an overcall only because I knew the true hand of North”. 

In the moment he took the decision to overcall he knew everything. 

He took a risk and lost. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Result: 4♠ –6 = –300 

 

North bid 3♣ and immediately jumps and says: “I made a mistake, I wanted to make a preempt but 

we play two suited ♥♠”. 

Knowing the explanation which will be given in the other side East has many possible bids but she 

decides to pass hoping the opponents will land in an awful contract. 

When, at the end of the play, she summons the TD she affirms that she did not double 4♠ being 

afraid that North could remove to 5♣. 

UNLUCKY !!! 

If someone feels sympathetic with the player who had “too much information” I point out that, 

when this happens, a player usually tries to be clever and we know only the cases were he did not 

guess. 

  9 7 5  Board   8  
 W / none  K 2 

 4 

 A Q 10 8 7 5 4 

 K J  N  Q 10 8 4 

 Q J 7 6 
W E 

 A 10 8 3 

 A Q 9 6 5  K 10 8 7 

 J 9 S  3 

  A 6 3 2  

 9 5 4 

 J 3 2 

 K 6 2 

W N E S 

1♦ 3♣ pass
 

4♠
 

All pass    


