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Athens — Greece

ENTRY TEST

NaAMB: NBO: oo,

Note 1: Encircle the right answer if applicable. Mention the most relevant law if asked
for only one.

Note 2: As long as not otherwise specified, all questions come from high level
competition and are played in a team’s event.
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South is declarer in 4% and has made 8 tricks so far. He leads a small club from his hand and
West plays #4. Declarer now starts pondering for almost a minute and then says: “I don’t
know, play one”. His opponents now demand the #7 to be played. But South says that he of
course was intending to play either the J or the K. TD!

What is the result on this board?

9 or 10 tricks or something else: .........cccevuenens
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E 2)

b)

S /none
W N E S
le
2¢ pass 29 pass

East explains 24 as showing both majors.
Westhas4 64 985 ¢AQJ752 #KJ8

After the play of the board will the TD accept a 3¢ bid by West or adjust, if the result is
favourable for EW?

3¢ isok / TD will adjust
W /NS
W N E S
le 2%  |INTF/2NT|All pass

East makes an insufficient bid. The TD is called and East bids 2NT now, after which
West is told that he can continue the bidding. INT and 2NT have normal meanings.

Westhas4 K109 Q105 ¢AJ6 #KJ73

After the play of the board will the TD accept the pass by West?

pass is ok / pass is not ok
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c¢) S/none

W N E S
pass
1% 1lv 3% ... pass
pass 44 pass 4v
All pass

3% by East is barrage.
South hesitated before his second pass.

Northhase--- YAQ932 ¢AKJI96 #1064

After the play of the board will the TD accept the 4¢-bid by North or adjust, if the result
is favourable for NS?

4¢ is ok / TD will adjust
d) S/none
W N E S
pass
INT X ... pass pass
2y pass pass X
pass 2NT All pass

North makes 10 tricks and calls the TD to present his objection against the 2¥-bid after
the hesitation by East following his double. East admits that he thought for a while.

Westhase AJ 107 vQJ984 ¢A2 K3

After the play of the board will the TD accept the 2¥-bid by West or adjust, if the result
is favourable for EW?

2v is ok / TD will adjust
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e) W/EW
W N E S
pass le 2¢ pass
29 pass .. 39 pass
49 All pass

24 is Michaels (both majors).
East has thought for a while before bidding 3.

North calls the TD and expresses his doubt about the 4% bid.

Westhase47 Q653 1062 #K8764

After the play of the board will the TD accept the 4¥-bid by West or adjust, if the result
is favourable for EW?

4% is ok / TD will adjust
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E 3)

The play:

Resulting in:
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Now West shows his cards, mainly pointing to the clubs and puts them back in the board
without any explanation.

“One off?” asks South.

“No, made” is the answer.

“But if you play two rounds of trumps you are two off”” South replies and calls the TD.

His decision is?

6¥ just made / 6v down 1 / 6v down 2

E 4)

Declarer takes the #5 out of his hand and immediately discovers his mistake, the card still
being high above the table. But all three others have seen the card. He wanted to play the 47
and exchanging both cards the #5 drops on the table while nobody could see the 47 yet. LHO
calls for the TD now.

Does declarer have to play the 5 now?
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South is declarer in 44 and has made 6 tricks so far. Dummy won the last trick and declarer
plays 10 and follows with #6. Nobody notices that he ruffs and he continues from dummy
and ruffs once more. East and West both discard a heart. And yes the same unusual play for
the third time. Now South claims saying: “l have the last two trumps.”

At last East awakes with: “Didn’t you play 44?”
They call the TD and West tells that with normal play in trick 10 (leading from the South
hand), he would have made a heart trick.

What is the result on this board?

6 or 7 or 8 or 9 or 10 or 11 tricks
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E 6)

A|Q10 Board 13
v[10932 N/all
‘_-_
S&AKQ8732
A83 N AK9764
vIAK875 W EvJ4
¢/AK86 ¢/QJ753
* 54 S & |6
AAJ52
v|Q6
410942
%) 109
W N E S
2% pass 24
2v X pass 24
pass 3% pass ... 3NT
pass 54 pass pass
X All pass

This board was played during the World Championships in Geneva.

NS play precision and South has hesitated before his bid of 3NT. The contract is just made.
EW challenge the 5#%-bid after this (agreed upon) hesitation and the TD awards an adjusted
score of 3NT -3.

NS appeal and the Appeal Committee decides that 54 is a likely action but not automatic.
They decide that the score should be based on 2/3 of 5&X just made and 1/3 on 3NT -3.

a)  The result in the other room is 4% +1. What is the result in IMPs on this board?

b)  What do you think about this decision by the AC?

A) OK
B) Could be better
C) Wrong

b) oK / Could be better / Wrong
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South is declarer in 3NT and made 6 tricks so far. South on lead plays his free 7. In West
and North a small heart and East discards #Q. Now #K and then in trick 11 %J, 9, A, Q. From
North ¥10 and before East can play, West shows his ¥K. South gets annoyed and calls the TD
complaining about the Ul which makes it clear for East what card to play in trick 12. East
then says that it is impossible for South to have the ¥K; he would never have played the ¥3 in
dummy in trick 9 in that case.

Which law decides the ruling by the TD?
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South declares 34. He won one trick so far, the last one in his hand. He now plays #3 and
ruffs it in dummy. East starts thinking for a while and being in some hurry South shows his
hand telling that East is squeezed: He will develop an extra trick in the suit East will discard
in. East thinks for a while and then admits after which the score is entered.

a)  Before starting the next board West asks his partner: “... and what if you underruff?”

b)  After the round has ended EW discover that if East underruffs declarer cannot exercise
the squeeze.

The TD is called in both cases. What is his decision?

Q) cerececnrnenecnnes tricks (of the last 8) for EW

o) N tricks (of the last 8) for EW
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South is declarer in a spade contract. West on lead plays ¢J on which South claims with “I
ruff and have three more heart tricks”. He shows his cards and then everyone notices the 46,
which was more or less covered by the hearts.

TD decision:
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E 10)

a)
W N E S
lv X pass X
XX
b)
W N E S
lv X pass XX
Both redoubles are inadmissible.
Yes / No
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E 11)
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2% pass 3¢

At this moment East looks somewhat surprised and tells that he wanted to bid 24 and thought
to do so. The TD establishes the facts and decides:

A) 3¢ isthe bid made and information about it given by East is Ul for West.
B) East’s bid will be 24 and the remarks made by East are Ul for West.

C) East’s bid will be 24 and the auction continues normally.

A or B or C
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E 12)

W N E S
le X
pass TD!

The pass out of turn is not accepted. The TD explains what to do; he leaves, and the auction

continues:
W N E S
le X 3¢ 3v
4¢ pass pass

Now South says to West: ,,Were you not obliged to pass?” TD!
What decision does the TD take?
A)  The auction continues and West has to pass for the rest of this auction.

B) The same as in A), but if the score appears to be advantageous for EW the TD
adjusts.

C) The last three calls are withdrawn. West has to pass and then the auction
continues. The 44-bid creates Ul for East.

E 13) Board 5, N/ NS

wW N E S
1e 1v

a)  West and North start the auction at the same time. TD!

b)  West opens 14 OOT and North — just a second later — bids 1%. TD!

Which laws does the TD apply (just numbers)?
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South is declarer in a diamond contract with North to lead in trick 8: ¢J. East plays ¥5 and
South and West follow suit. Now declarer plays ¢2 from dummy and East discovers his
revoke. He tells so and declarer tells him that play continues and there will be a one trick
transfer. OK. South plays his last trump and the last three tricks are won by East. Now South
discovers that even with the extra trick he is one trick short of a normal result and calls the
TD. He decides?

A) Result as described by South: 3 normal tricks plus a penalty of one trick for EW;
declarer loses two of the last 6 tricks.

B) Result stands: South gets 3 tricks.
C) South gets 5 tricks plus a penalty trick.

A or B or C
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E 15)

AKIT76 Board 8
vl 1085 W / none
¢KJ6
(62
A9852 AQ43
v(763 vAQ2
¢82 ¢AQ97
*(10854 &|JO97
AA10
v|K94
410543
SAKQ3
W N E S
pass pass INT X
XX 29 All pass

East did not alert the XX.

NS make 10 tricks in 2¥ and complain that the XX was not alerted apparently being SOS
(regulations say that such XX should be alerted).

The double by South shows a hand at least as strong as the INT opening bid (15-17).
TD?

A)  Score stands.

B) For EW the reverse score for 4¥ made by NS, for NS: 2v +2.

C) 4v just made.

A or B or C
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E 16)

A9853 Board 1
v|10762 N / none
¢K873
*Q
AJ104 AQ762
¥|/AQJ95 v|K43
¢ ¢Q62
&A9764 K52
AAK
v|8
¢/AJ10954
*J1083
W N E S
pass pass le
2NT pass 4v 5¢
X All pass

The play has gone: YA and ¥5 by West. Declarer ruffs, draws trumps finessing the Q in East
and then plays a small club towards the queen in trick 6. West starts thinking for a long time
and after a minute or so dummy picks up the queen and moves it into the direction of West
saying something like “come on, we are late”. At the same moment East, before West takes a
decision, plays a small club. TD!

Does the TD apply Law 57A?

E== European Bridge League 5" EBL Tournament Director Workshop Athens 2017



E 17)

A3 Board

v[9 /

|7

& |-
A76 Al
V|- v |10
¢ 8 ¢5
& --- & ---

AaQ)

v

¢/

& |-

South plays 44 and has made 8 tricks so far. West leads 48 and South ruffs it in his hand,
draws a trump and loses the last trick. West notices the ¢J and calls the TD reporting the
revoke.

What will the result on the board be?

8 or 9 or 10 or 11 tricks for South
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E 18) Matchpoints
The frequency table for NS on board 14 shows:
6 times +430
12 times +420
3times +400
2times -50
One score is missing. The TD decides to award 1/3 of +400 and 2/3 of +420.

a)  How many match points does this NS pair receive?

b)  Now how many match points does a NS pair get for making 9 tricks in 3NT?

D)  NS:..wseeeeseesse MP
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pass
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pass
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All pass

West will tell he thought South to have opened with 1INT. 2& shows the majors
(Landy). North doesn’t accept the insufficient bid. TD is called. The auction continues:

West leads ¥ 6 and East wins with the ace.

b)  The same irregularity happens and now the auction continues:

| 3¢ 3NT | All pass | H
West leads ¥ 6 and East wins with the ace.
c)
W N E S
pass 2NT
2% TD!

West will tell that he thought South to have opened 1NT. In that case 2% shows 5 hearts
and an unspecified minor. North doesn’t accept 2 ¥ and the auction continues:

| 3¢ 3NT | All pass | H

West’s opening lead is v 6 for partner’s ace.

Which lead penalties declarer may impose on East in these three cases?

Check (X) the box(es), if you say “YES”, leave them blank, if “NO”

L) no 4 \d no v ¢ no ¢ & no %
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E 20)

A5 Board 8
vlj10862 |W/none
®J75
®9742
AAKQ109 N AJ863
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|53 S % |Q86
A742
v|4
¢/AQ1084
S AKJ10
W N E S
la pass 24 3¢
44 ... pass pass S%
Se pass pass X
All pass

North hesitated after the 44-bid. The contract is 1 off. The TD establishes that the 5%-bid by
South was not permitted and that bidding 5# by West caused a serious error (he should have
doubled, which results in 5#X —2 according to the TD).

a)

b)

E== European Bridge League

It is teams and the result at the other table is 5& X —2. Calculate the results in IMPs for

both teams.

It is pairs and the frequency table for NS without this result is the following:

-100
-300
—420
-590

2 times
2 times
3 times

Calculate the results in MPs for both pairs.

EW: v MP
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Answers Entry Test Athens 2017

Law 46B5 applies, but ... the sentence between brackets in the heading of B is
generally valid. It is completely clear that declarer never was thinking about playing
a small card. He couldn’t make a choice between the J and K. So the TD offers the
defenders to make that decision. Declarer behaved stupidly but with the A and Q in
front he will make 10 tricks.

a) No, Adjust. In West’s perspective East shows a heart suit.

b) Yes, pass is ok. Law 27B explicitly states that Law 16D does not apply.

c) No, Adjust. 3¢ is a logical alternative and 4+ is suggested.

d) Yes, 2v is ok. The hesitation does not suggest more than West knows for himself:
INT will not be a nice contract.

e) Yes, 4v is ok. Regardless of the meaning of the hesitation 3¥ shows a strong hand
and then the 4%-bid is automatic.

12 tricks. The play by declarer is clear, going for 13 tricks, but with the trumps 4-1
he only makes 12. There is no reason at all to assume that he miscounted the trumps.

No. The way declarer held this card does not fit in the conditions described in Law
45C2 and see also Law 48A.

Declarer makes all 5 tricks: 44 +1. East did accept all leads OOT making those
‘legal’. And it was not a tricky way to get 11 tricks, he risks a trick.

a) 2/3 of 12 IMP (+600) plus 1/3 of —10 IMP (~450) gives 4 2/3 IMP.

b) C. The result reached by the illegal call (5%) should not be weighted in the
adjusted score.

Law 57A. East’s reasoning makes sense but isn’t relevant.

a) An agreement exists once the agreeing side calls on the next board. Before that
moment it may challenge a claim in any way. EW get 1 trick.

b) Here an agreement exists and it only can be cancelled if the TD decides that East
would have found this underruff had play been continued normally. He shouldn’t;
no trick for EW.

A contested claim. Play ceases so declarer never really revoked. The TD needs to
analyse what happens without the revoke. South loses 1 and gets 3 tricks.

Strange as it may look, but the answer is ‘No’. According to the definition of a
redouble it is legal in a). The double came from an opponent and there were no bids
in between.

C. No reason not to believe East. Law 25A applies and in that case there does not
exist any Ul.

A. Just applying Law 37A.
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E 13) a) Law 33 and then Law 31B.
b) Law 28B or Law 29A.
E 14) B. Letus apply Law 11A: no rectification. In that case a further penalty is not needed
anymore.
E 15) A. North is not damaged by the infraction; he knows that the XX has to be SOS.
E 16) Yes. Dummy took this card but not with the intention to play it. It is not up to his
LHO to take advantage of this action (Law 57C1 does not apply).
E 17) 8. He loses all the last 3 tricks.
E 18) a) 17 MP. With +400 they would have received 7 MP, with +420 22 MP; this gives
1x7+2x22divided by 3.
b) 6 1/3 MP.
E 19)
4 no 4 v no ¥ ¢ no ¢ » no &
a) X X X X
b) X X
C) X X X X
E 20) a) For EW: Table Score: +100 (-9 IMP), Expected Score: -300 (0 IMP), Normal

Score: -420 (+3 IMP). Team EW gets —6 IMP, Team NS gets -3 IMP.

b) For EW: Table Score: +100 (0 MP). Expected Score: —300 (6 MP), Normal Score:
~420 (11 MP). EW get 5 MP, NS get 5 MP.
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