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E 1)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South is declarer in 3NT. Start ♦10 for K, ♣4 to J and A (doing this the ♣3 is stuck under the 

♣4 and nobody notices), ♦2 for Q in dummy, three club tricks ending in dummy (South 

discards a spade), heart finesse to the K and West collects two diamond tricks. Now declarer 

claims the remainder but discovers at the same time that he is a card short, having 3 cards left 

where the others have 4.   

TD! 

  

  A 5 4  Board   

  
 J 8 3 

 Q 7 5 

 K J 7 2 

 Q 9 6 2  N  J 10 8 

 K 6 4 
W E 

 10 9 5 2 

 A 10 9 8  4 3 2 

 9 5 S  A 10 6 

  K 7 3  

 A Q 7 

 K J 6 

 Q 8 4 3 
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E 2) Pairs 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After instruction from the TD South bids 2NT and the auction continues without restrictions. 

All pass.  

The TD returns at the end of play when declarer has made 8 tricks (1-2-4-1 in ♠-♥-♦-♣).  

What should he do? 

  

  A 7 6 3  Board  1  

 N / none  A Q 9 4 

 A J 6 3 

 6 

 K 10 9  N  J 8 4 

 J 8 3 2 
W E 

 K 6 

 8 5 4  Q 7 2 

 9 4 2 S  A Q J 10 7 

  Q 5 2  

 10 7 5 

 K 10 9 

 K 8 5 3 

W N E S 

 1♦ 2♣ 1NT  
TD 

    2NT 

All pass    
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E 3)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South declares 3NT and has won the last trick himself. He now claims all remaining tricks 

with the statement: ‘I play ♠A and then my hand is high.’ Defenders accept and put their cards 

away. When looking at the hand records somewhat later they discover that South can’t reach 

the dummy and normally only wins three of the last four tricks.  

TD! 

  

 

 

 

 A 8  

 5 4 

 --- 

 --- 

 J 7  N   6 

 9 
W E 

 --- 

 8  J 5 

 --- S  6 

  ---  

 J 8 

 Q 6 

 --- 
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E 4)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South is declarer in 4NT, EW have passed throughout. West leads ♠Q, taken in dummy. South 

leads ♥3, trick taken by West who continues ♠J for the Ace. South now enters the dummy 

with ♦J and plays a small club from the table finessing with the Q. West wins and plays ♠10. 

Declarer discards a club himself (revoke) and in dummy. West continues spades and 

a) South discovers his ♠9 and wins this and all remaining tricks. 

b) South revokes again but wins the next trick with the ♠9. 

What does the TD decide about the result on the board in both cases? 

 

  

  K 4  Board   

  
 Q 8 5 3 

 K J 8 

 J 5 3 2 

 Q J 10 8 7  N  6 3 2 

 K 7 
W E 

 9 6 4 2 

 6 5 3  10 9 4 2 

 K 9 4 S  10 8 

  A 9 5  

 A J 10 

 A Q 7 

 A Q 7 6 
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E 5)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South plays 3NT and all diamonds and spades have been played. He won the last trick himself 

and now states: ‘If the ♥K is on side I have the rest.’ East now shows his ♥K and calls for the 

TD.   

Decision? 

 

  

  ---  Board   

  
 A Q J 

 --- 

 4 

 ---  N  --- 

 7 6 
W E 

 K 4 

 ---  --- 

 7 2 S  J 5 

  ---  

 8 5 

 --- 

 A 9 
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E 6) Teams 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South alerts 2♦ and explains it as ♥ and ♠. East leads ♣8 face up and when dummy comes 

down calls the TD and tells him that they probably got a wrong explanation about the 2♦-bid. 

The TD instructs them to continue play and North makes 8 tricks.  

What does the TD decide, if 

a)  2♦ shows one major, so the explanation is wrong? 

b)  the explanation is right, 2♦ shows both majors? 

  

  Q J  Board  3  

 S / EW  10 

 A K 9 8 7 2 

 J 6 5 3 

 K 9 6  N  A 8 5 

 K Q J 2 
W E 

 9 8 7 5 4 

 10 6  Q 5 4 

 A Q 10 7 S  8 2 

  10 7 4 3 2  

 A 6 3 

 J 3 

 K 9 4 

W N E S 

1NT 2♦ 
A 

pass 2♠ 

pass 3♦ All pass  
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E 7) Pairs W / none 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

West took some extra time before his first pass. The contract should be one off but NS make a 

serious error in the defence, allowing West to make 9 tricks. The TD decides that pass is a 

logical alternative for the 3♥-bid by East. 

Without this result the frequency table shows for NS 5 times +110, 3 times + 50, 2 times -50, 

2 times -110.   

a) Calculate the results in matchpoints for both pairs, assuming NS to make 3♦.   

b) Assume that in the previous case EW play 3♥ one down. Calculate their matchpoints 

playing in 3♦, if they would make it with an expectation of 60% and are one off with an 

expectation of 40%. 

c) What are the matchpoints for a NS pair with +50 scorepoints in case b)?  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

E 8) Screens 

 

 

 

 

 

 

a) West pushes the tray to the other side.  

b) Now South pushes the tray to the other side. 

In both cases North pushes the tray back with the remark ‘nonsense’ and West, not knowing 

what to do, calls the TD.  

His decision please?  

 

 

  

W N E S 

1♥ 2♦ pass 3♦
 

… pass pass  3♥ X 

All pass    

W N E S 

1♥ pass
 

1♠ pass 

1NT pass 2♣ pass 

X    
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E 9)  

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before the opening lead West shows his hand to dummy. West leads A, K and Q in clubs and 

on the Q both East and South show out. South ruffs and while immediately playing a small 

heart, on which West follows suit, dummy asks declarer: ‘no clubs?’ The answer is ‘no’, after 

which North says to East: ‘then you revoked’. East wins the trick and returns a heart. South 

wins, plays ♠A, diamond to dummy and a small spade to the J for the Q. West returns a 

diamond. South finesses the ♠10 and makes 9 tricks. East now calls the TD telling that he 

revoked and that dummy drew attention to it during play.  

TD decision with explanation? 

  

  K 9 7 4  Board 15  

 S / NS  J 7 

 A Q 9 4 

 J 8 3 

 Q 10 5 2  N  8 

 10 4 
W E 

 A 9 8 5 2 

 J 8  7 6 5 2 

 A K Q 7 4 S  9 6 2 

  A J 6 3  

 K Q 6 3 

 K 10 3 

 10 5 

W N E S 

   1♣
 

pass 1♦
 

pass 1♠ 

pass 4♠ All pass  
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E 10)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2♣: weak (6 – 11) with both majors or various strong possibilities. Answer 2♦:  no preference 

for a major.  

Away from the table East tells that he didn’t see the 2♦-bid from North and that the 

partnership has not discussed what to do after such intervention. He furthermore asks whether 

his partner may continue bidding normally when he now 

a) doubles;    

b) bids 2NT (forcing);  

c) passes;  

d) bids 3NT;   

e) bids 2♥. 

  

  Q 9 8  Board  8  

 W / none  10 

 Q 10 9 7 4 3 

 A 9 3 

 K 10 7 6  N  5 4 3 

 A 9 6 4 
W E 

 K Q 3 

 J 6 2  A K 8 

 Q 8 S  K 7 6 4 

  A J 2  

 J 8 7 5 2 

 5 

 J 10 5 2 

W N E S 

pass pass
 

1NT pass 

2♣  
A 

2♦ 2♦ TD! 
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E 11)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

West is declarer in a 4♥ contract and has made 7 tricks. With South on lead declarer concedes 

one of the last three tricks saying to South: ‘you get one spade trick’. South looks surprised 

and tells that she does not have a spade.  

TD!  (There is no indication for the position of the cards in the minors.)  

  

  ---  Board   

  
 --- 

 J 

 9 6 

 ---  N  --- 

 --- 
W E 

 --- 

 Q 10  8 

 7 S  Q 10 

  ---  

 --- 

 6 3 

 J 
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E 12)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The contract is 2 off after normal play. North now discovers that West had a weak NT 

opening, which on his side has not been alerted. West himself did alert it and told South that 

in 4
th

 hand they play it weak. North calls the TD and tells that he would have bid 2♦ (showing 

♦ + ♥) after 1NT, had he known 1NT to be 12-14 in this situation. (This is a jurisdiction where 

1NT has to be alerted, if not within the range of 14-18.) 

The TD holds a poll and four players tell that they would not pass 1NT independent of the 

strength, two players pass whatever the strength of 1NT is and one player would not pass if 

weak and pass if strong.   

What decision does the TD take?  

  

  2  Board 13  

 N / all  J 9 5 3 2 

 A Q J 7 

 K 10 4 

 7 5 3  N  Q J 10 9 6 

 A K 
W E 

 10 7 

 K 9 8   5 4 2 

 J 8 5 3 2 S  A 7 6 

  A K 8 4  

 Q 8 6 4 

 10 6 3 

 Q 9 

W N E S 

 pass pass pass 

1NT pass 2♥  pass 

2♠ All pass   
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E 13)  

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South opened the bidding with stop 3♥ and then West put down his stop card, became 

somewhat confused, took back his stop card and bid 3♠. Then the auction continued as shown. 

After the play – 4♥ is one down after an early spade switch from East – South calls the TD 

and tells him what happened.   

TD decision and explain.  

  A 9  Board 11  

 S / none  J 7 

 Q J 5 3 

 A Q 9 8 2 

 K J 7 5 3 2  N  Q 8 6 

 4 3 
W E 

 A 2 

 10 9 2  A K 8 7 6 

 K 3 S  J 7 5 

  10 4  

 K Q 10 9 8 6 5 

 4 

 10 6 4 

W N E S 

   3♥
 

3♠ 4♥ All pass  
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E 14) Pairs 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

North leads ♦9 for J, K and A. Declarer plays A,K of spades and then ♥2 to the ace. He asks 

for ♣J but dummy plays ♣6 for 7, 8 and at the moment that North starts to take a card (not 

shown yet) West discovers that East took the wrong club and says so. TD!   

After his ruling dummy takes the Jack, in South the ♣4, West still ♣8 and North has changed 

his card and wins the trick with ♣Q. North leads the ♥6 in trick 6 for the K. West finesses ♦10 

and then plays ♣6 for the K. He makes 10 tricks.   

The TD is still at the table. May he leave? Explain the decision.  

  Q 6  Board  2  

 E / NS  J 10 6 4 

 10 9 5 3 2 

 Q 10 

 A K  N  10 7 4 3 2 

 K 7 3 2 
W E 

 A 9 5 

 A 8 6  Q J 7 

 A K 9 8 S  J 6 

  J 9 8 5  

 Q 8  

 K 4 

 7 5 4 3 2 

W N E S 

  pass pass 

2NT pass 3♥  pass 

3♠ pass 3NT All pass 
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E 15)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1♥ shows 8 – 15 hcp and is not alerted; 2♥ shows 8 – 11 hcp and is not alerted either.  

4♣ is just made but North discovers that 3NT is a possible make and he calls the TD telling 

him that he is wrongly informed about opponents’ methods. Regulations tell that such 1♥ 

opening should be alerted. 

Decision? 

  

  8 7  Board 14  

 E / none  A 10 8 

 Q 10 7 

 K J 10 3 2 

 A 9 3 2  N  Q 6 5 

 Q 3 2 
W E 

 K J 7 5 4 

 A 8 3  J 9 5 

 7 6 5 S  9 8 

  K J 10 4  

 9 6  

 K 6 4 2 

 A Q 4 

W N E S 

  1♥ X 

2♥ 3♣ pass  pass 

3♥ X pass  3♠ 

pass 4♣ All pass  
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E 16) Teams 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2♦ is alerted and West explains it as a transfer for hearts. South starts with a small club and 

East collects 10 tricks. At the end of play North calls the TD and tells him about the wrong 

explanation.  

TD decision with right explanation please. 

  

  K 10 7  Board  8  

 W / none  7 2 

 10 8 5 

 J 10 7 4 3 

 A 9 5 3 2  N  Q 4 

 A 10 6 3  
W E 

 K Q 5 

 A K 9  Q J 7 6 4 

 8 S  K 9 5 

  J 8 6  

 J 9 8 4  

 3 2 

 A Q 6 2 

W N E S 

1♠ pass 2♦  
A 

pass 

2♥ pass 3NT All pass 
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E 17)  

Swiss Teams, 7 boards in a match, Open Room, Board 12 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The TD is called after play; result 5♠ minus 1. It is agreed that South hesitated before he 

doubled. The TD analyses the board and draws the following conclusions:   

 Pass is a logical alternative for the 5♠-bid by North. 

 The result in 5♥X will be just made in 1/3 and 2 off in 2/3 of the cases.  

 

a) Calculate the result in imps on board 12. In the closed room they played 4♠ just made for 

NS.  

b) On board 14 both teams receive average minus. The result on the boards 8–11 & 13 is 

17:12 for team A (home team). What is the imp balance in this match for both teams?  

 

 

 

  

W N E S 

1♥ pass
 

2♣ 2♠ 

3♥ 4♠ 5♥ … X 

pass 5♠ All pass  
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E 18)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South is declarer in 5♦ doubled. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Two down, +500 for EW. Now 3 is discovered in dummy (stuck under ♣J). East calls the 

TD and demands one more trick – a heart ruff in trick 4.  

Decision? 

 

 

 

 

E 19)  W / all 

 

 

 

After 5♠ West produces a sound of surprise and East discovers that he took the wrong bidding 

card out of the box. He intended to bid 4♠.  

TD! 
 

  7 4  Board  2  

 E / NS 
 7 5 (3) 

 A 10 7 5 

 Q J 9 5 

 A J 10 9 3 2  N  K Q 8 6  

 A 4 
W E 

 K 8 6 2 

 6  8 

 A 8 6 4 S  K 7 3 2 

  5  

 Q J 10 9  

 K Q J 9 4 3 2 

 10 

W N E S 

♠A ♠4 ♠6 ♠5 

♥A ♥5 ♥2 ♥J 

♥4 ♥7 ♥K ♥Q 

♣A ♣5 ♣2 ♣10 

   claim 

W N E S 

1♠ pass 5♠  
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E 20) 

In all cases West is dealer.   

What lead penalties are possible if partner of offender gets the lead?  

 

a) 

 

 

 

2♣ (weak, showing both majors) OOT, after which West bids 1♣. Then the TD is called 

and after his ruling the auction continues: 

 

 

 

 

b) 

 

 

1♥ is insufficient and not accepted. The auction continues: 

 

 

 

c) 

 

 

North has changed the X into 1♠. The TD is called and he establishes that L25B applies. 

East accepts the 1♠-bid and the auction continues: 

 

 

 

 

d) 

 

 

1NT OOT is not accepted. The auction continues: 

 

 

 

In the system of NS the legal 1NT bid shows at least 5-5 in the other suits.  

  

W N E S 

 2♣   

1♣ pass 1♦ 1♥ 

2♦ 2♥ pass pass 

3♦ All pass   

W N E S 

1♦ 1♠ 1♥  

  X 2♠ 

All pass    

W N E S 

1♣ X / 1♠   

  pass pass 

3♣ pass 3NT All pass 

W N E S 

   1NT 

1♣ pass 1♥ 1NT 

2♥ All pass   



  

 European Bridge League 10th Main Tournament Directors Course Prague 2016 

 

E 21) Teams  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

West plays 3NT after 6 lead. 

West takes the first trick with K and plays 10 to the K. South switches to J ducked, 

and then 10 to Q and K. North plays 10 to the A, 3 and 4 (!) – revoke. Now, the 

declarer plays a heart to the queen and starts looking for a club. He comments: ‘I lost a card. I 

had a club I wanted to use for a finesse!’ He calls the director. The inspection of played cards 

reveals the revoke. 

The play continues and declarer has no choice but to play A and Q drops. West makes 10 

tricks.  

South calls the TD and tells him that without the revoke he would have made his ♣Q and two 

more diamond tricks, so one trick coming from the revoke is not enough compensation. 

Decision? 

  

  K 9 6 4  Board  1 

 N / none 
 8 6 

 K J 10 

 7 6 5 3 

 A Q 7  N  8 5 3 

 K Q J 
W E 

 A 10 9 5 

 Q 9 6 4 2  A 

 10 4 S  A J 9 8 2 

  J 10 2  

 7 4 3 2 

 8 7 5 3 

 K Q 
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Answers Entry Test Prague 2016 
 

 

E 1) L67B2b. Established revoke which costs 1 trick. 3NT minus 1.  

 

E 2) L27B1a. He tells that North is allowed to pass. And that he stands ready to adjust the 

score if +120 appears to be a favourable result thanks to the irregularity (L27D).  

 

E 3) L69B2. EW get a trick.  

 

E 4) a)  L64C. 4NT minus 2. Without the revoke declarer loses 5 tricks. 

 b)  L64A. Now declarer lost 4 tricks in play. Plus a penalty trick makes it 4NT -2.  

 

E 5) L70A. Declarer loses 2 tricks, allowing East to uphold the ♥K in trick 10. 

 

E 6) North used UI in both cases. L21B3, L16B. 

a)  East could bid 2♥ and then West bids 3♥ over 2♠ from South, making 9 tricks.  

b)  The contract should be 2♠ making 6 tricks.  

E 7) a)  Normal result (+110) gives 19 mp therefore EW get 5 mp. 

  Expected result (+100) gives 14 mp, so consequent damage is 5 mp; to be adjused. 

  Table result (–530) gives 0 mp. NS receive 5 mp. 

b) –50 gives 5.4 mp; +110 gives 19.4 mp. This results in 13.8 mp (or 0.6x19 + 0.4x6 

= 13.8). As +100 gives 14 mp there is no damage. 

c)  +50 results in 10.8 mp 

 

E 8) Screen regulations tell that L36B has to be applied in both cases.  

 

E 9) Declarer received UI and uses a safety play which he cannot afford without knowing 

about the penalty trick. Losing 2 trump tricks is normal. Adjusted Scores 4♠ –1. L16B. 

E 10) Only in e) partner has to pass throughout. L27B1b. 

E 11) L70E1/70A. With a diamond let by South it is inferior but not irrational to play ♦10. A 

club finesse in the next trick is normal too. Declarer makes 1 trick. 

E 12) The peers bidding 2♦ anyway should not be taken into account. Weighted score with 

4♥ making and 2♠ minus 2. L21B3. 

E 13) East has UI that West (most probably) has a pre-empt. The legal 3♠-bid shows a 

stronger hand which makes 4♠ a LA. Adjusted Score 4♠ minus 1. L16B. 

E 14) The TD as Sherlock Holmes. Which card North wanted to play with the ♣6 from 

dummy and ♣9 by declarer that he wants to retract when the ♣J is played? The ♣10! 

West has a LA in finessing the ♣10 and should be penalized even. 7 tricks. L16D.  

E 15) Knowing the agreements makes bidding 3NT a little bit more attractive but it is still 

unlikely that NS reach that contract. Result stands.  
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E 16) Strange bidding. It looks like West does not believe that his partner plays the 

announced agreement (or East’s 3 NT was bid too firmly in which case there is UI).  

But the contract is never in danger and a spade lead leading to only 9 tricks is unlikely.  

E 17) a)  The table result is 12 imps (620 + 100) for team B. The weighted score in 5♥ 

gives 

  them 5.3 + 5 = 10.3. There is no damage. Team B earns 12 imps on this board.  

b)  Team A loses with 10 imps in this match (–7 – 3). Team B wins with 4 imps (7 – 

3).  

E 18) No revoke, 64C does not apply. L14B4 doesn’t solve this either but gives a hint: the 

♥3 is supposed to have been on the table all the time. Use L12A1 and go for 3 tricks 

off.  

E 19) Yes, East may change his bid to 4♠. L25A footnote. 

E 20) In c) and d) L26B applies: Declarer may forbid a lead in any suit he wants. There is no 

lead penalty in b) (L27B1b). In a) West waived the rectification (L28B). 

a) no LP  ‘forfeits rectification’ in L28B cannot be ignored 

b)  no LP 

c) no ♠, no ♥, no ♦, no ♣ 

d) no ♠, no ♥, no ♦, no ♣ 

 

E 21) This is a sad case for NS. After a revoke play changes, more often damaging the 

offender than being advantageous. Assume the ♣Q being in North then declarer loses 

the winning finesse. L64C does not apply.  3NT made.  

 

 


