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This lecture has been made working together with my Italian colleague Carlo Galardini. 

My friend Carlo is a top T.D. and a top technician that I sometimes consult when I meet a 
difficult case. 

He has recently made a big and clever work analyzing how to apply the bridge laws in 
many different cases. His work seems very useful in teaching T.D. of any level. 

We tried to cover all the possible situations of opening lead out of turn when the screen 
are in use. 

Especially we focalized our attention in cases that seems not to be covered by the actual 
regulations i.e. opening lead out of turn faced down which is faced when the opponent 
open the screen or a lead when the bid has not finished but 1 side of the screen acts as 
the bid has finished. 

When we have 2 sides in fault our general approach is to apply, when it is possible, the 
Law 47E1 permitting to retract the card and considering this an unauthorized information 
for both lines. 

We tried to cover any possible case and give our solution but I will be happy if your fantasy 
will find a new one and/or you will suggest a different solution that we can discuss. 

The idea is finally to agree a common approach in all different cases. 

 

(The examples are given using Power Point; the YELLOW SLIDE shows the Law or the 
Rule, the WHITE SLIDE shows the Application and the BLUE SLIDE a possible change). 
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Rules affirm:
The screenmate should attempt to prevent an opening lead 
out of turn. Any opening lead out of turn shall be withdrawn 
without other rectification if the screen has not been opened.
Otherwise: 
1. When the screen has been opened through no fault of the 

declaring side (and the other defender has not led face up) 
Law 54 applies.

2. When the declaring side has opened the screen the lead is 
accepted. The presumed declarer becomes the actual 
declarer. Law 23 may apply.

3. When two opening leads are faced by the defending side 
the incorrect lead is a major penalty card.

Then: lead ♠3. South spreads his hand. North will play the 
second card to this trick (Law 54B1).
North makes 12 tricks in ♠.
T.D. has to judge whether to apply Law 23.
Could South have known that accepting the lead could be 
favourable ? YES. His slam is border line and a passive lead 
gives the possibility to establish the diamonds.
Has he taken advantage from his irregularity? YES
What is the probable result without the infraction? After the 
“normal” lead in hearts: 6 ♠-1.
It is a case of split score (both sides are at fault).
For NS: 6 ♠-1 (-100)         For EW: 6 ♠ made (-1430)
T.D. could also assign a weighted split score (for instance 
when the lead in hearts is not so “normal”).

It is the more simple case but why not to apply Law 47E1 (to 
open the screen is a kind of mistaken information)?

Both sides are offending.

T.D. permits to withdraw the card and the information is 
unauthorized for both sides.
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As in case 1. The face down regular opening lead is 
withdrawn (Law 54).

Opening lead out of turn is accepted (possibly Law 23).

To apply Law 54 is certainly reasonable playing without 
screen but when BOTH SIDES are offending, why not face up 
the regular lead?

The wrong lead will be withdrawn and considered 
unauthorized information for both sides.

The general idea is that to restore a NORMAL situation is 
usually better. 
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 Regular lead is maintened.

 Lead out of turn is a major penalty card.

Both sides are offending.

Why not permit the withdrawal of the lead out of turn and let it 
be U.I. for both sides?

Regular lead stays and the lead out of turn is a major penalty 
card.



th Main Tournament Directors Course Bad Honnef 2013 

Strange. The rules treat the lead out of turn in the same way 
whether only one side is responsible (here) or both sides are 
(previous case).

Law 54 applies.

In this case T.D. applies the Law as if screens were not in 
use.
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Law 54: When an opening lead out of turn is faced and 
offender’s partner leads face down, the director requires the 
face down lead to be retracted. Also: …

Apply Law 54.

I don’t like this Law without and especially WITH the screen.
The will has to be, when possible, to let play the contract to 
the player who has the right to do it.

AND MORE …
Law 54 affirms the face down lead has to be retracted which 
means that, if declarer refuses the wrong opening lead and 
lets the lead free to the regular leader (Law 50D2b) that man 
is entitled to change the card he led face down before.
Why not, in this case, to oblige the regular leader to play the 
same card he led before?

I confess !!!!
In this specific situation I tell the regular leader :”If you play 
the same card you led before, I (T.D.) will be sure that, for the 
opening lead, you have not used any U.I.” (Law 50E2 and 3)
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Law 47E1: A lead out of turn (or a played card) may be 
retracted without further rectification if the player was 
mistakenly informed by an opponent that it was his turn to 
lead or play.

Rules seems not to cover this situation.

What to do?
♠3 becomes a major penalty card and apply Law 54?

NOOOOOOOOOO…

It seems logical to apply Law 47E1.

♠3 is retracted and – both sides being offenders – is an U.I. 
for both sides.
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Declarer’s side opened the screen.

Lead has be accepted.

Law 23 could be applied.

Why not a simple application of Law 47E1?

 What to do?

Not covered by the rules?  
♠3 major penalty card and apply 54?

We don’t like it.



th Main Tournament Directors Course Bad Honnef 2013 

It seems logical to act as in case 7, so … 

Apply Law 47E1.

♠3 is retracted and – both sides being offenders – is an U.I. 
for both sides.

The regular lead is the good one

What to do with ♠3?  

It seems logical to act as in case 7, so …

Apply Law 47E1.

♠3 is retracted and – both sides being offenders – is an U.I. 
for both sides.
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Doubtfull.

If South admits he heard and did not reply, we believe that 
SILENCE means YES. So, as in case 7 …

Rules seem not to cover this situation.
What to do?
♠3 major penalty card and apply Law 54? NOOOOO 

We suggest: Law 47E1.
♠3 is retracted and – both sides being offenders – is an U.I. 
for both sides.

If South does not admit:
♠3 major penalty card and apply Law 54.

If South admits he heard and did not reply, we believe that 
SILENCE means YES. So, as in case 9.

Rules seem not to cover this situation.
What to do?
♠3 major penalty card and apply Law 54? NOOOOO

We suggest: Law 47E1
♠3 is retracted and – both sides being offenders – is an U.I. 
for both sides.

If South does not admit:
As in case 6, but look at the comments in blue.
♠3 major penalty card and apply Law 54.
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If South admits he heard and did not reply, we believe that 
SILENCE means YES. So, as in case 10 …

Rules seem not to cover this situation.
What to do?
♠3 major penalty card and apply Law 54? NOOOOO 

We suggest: Law 47E1
♠3 is retracted and – both sides being offenders – is an U.I. 
for both sides.

If South does not admit:
♠3 major penalty card and apply Law 54.

Rules affirm the lead has been accepted … or NO?

To discuss …

As you can imagine, we have a lot of liking to apply Law 
47E1: To open the screen on a lead face down is a mistaken 
information.
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Strange situation (the second happened).

What to do?

To discuss but … you know our liking.

FINAL COMMENT:

We believe that the best is always to have a normal situation 
at the table, that means, when it is possible, the regular leader 
has to lead.

Remember that in many cases part of the responsability is in 
charge of the screenmate of the player who made the lead out 
of turn.

Our suggestion is to apply – when it is possible and not 
against the Law – the Law 47E1.

It is my opinion that in all situatins where you decide to apply 
Law 47E1 a regular lead face down stays !!!


